Baby steps

Posted: January 27, 2011 in Health, Hints & Tips

Photo by: Michael Scott at scottphotographics.com

So yesterday I went through some of the lessons that I’ve learned over the past couple years. If you don’t remember what I said or you didn’t get a change to read the post, you can read it here. Today I just wanted to talk a bit about the first lesson I covered, which was that you can’t do everything all at once. This applies to food and exercise. The last thing I want you to do is cut out all bad foods and start going to the gym 5 times a week. It’s unrealistic, especially for people who aren’t use to it. You have to start slow and make small changes.

Now these small changes all depend on YOU. Some people have a weakness for sugar, others its salt or chips. Today we’ll start with one thing and that’s.. Water

My main beverage of choice in 2007 was pop. I hated water, I rarely drank it unless it was in the form of a juice mix.

Sugar is not your friend. I’ll go into more details in a later post on sugars, maybe even with a few guest bloggers to help get my point across but for now I will just say sugar=bad. A lot of those drinks you’re substituting for water have sugar in them, likely a ton of it! So my goal for the first week was to drink more water, less pop and other sugary drinks. If you have a pop/juice addiction you don’t have to cut it out completely the first week but say you have 2-3 pops a day, have 1. If you have a couple a week, have one and save it for the weekend.

Now I’m lucky where I work because we have one of those water coolers/filters and I actually got a water dispenser for mWater Dispensery home as well. I buy a case of bottled water and then refill the bottles. A case lasts me a while! Eventually you need to recycle the bottles because I’m sure after a week or so they’ll get bacteria on them. Or use washable containers.

I can tell you this, at first I hated drinking water all the time.. but I got used to it and now that I am use to not having all that sugar when I do drink juice or pop it’s WAY too sweet for me and I have a hard time drinking it. I actually will drink a diet pop instead of a regular pop just because I can’t handle the sugar. What I’m saying is that if you don’t like water, take baby steps and make adjustments so that you slowly start getting use to it. I promise you, you WILL get use to it!

Why is water so important? <– click the link to find out more

Well your body is about 75% water, so you obviously need water to stay alive. That’s a given, but why else?

Your kidneys have a hard time functioning without it. When your kidneys can’t do its job properly then the liver has to take over to help out. Why is that not good? Well your liver plays a major role in getting rid of fat and if it has to take over for the kidneys to help them out, then you’re not burning as much fat, so FAT gets stored in the body and your weight loss will slow down or won’t happen at all.

Water also rids your body of waste, such things as toxins and excess fat. If you’re drinking enough water it helps to flush out those wastes.

If you find that you retain water – drinking water actually helps treat water retention. I know weird huh? But it’s true. When your body isn’t getting enough water it’s thinking that it needs to store it, that whole survival mode thing. So, if you give your body the amount of water that it needs, it will get rid of all that water its storing and voilà, goodbye swollen feet, legs and abdomen! Cutting down on salt also helps with water retention but I’ll talk more about salt in another blog!

If you aren’t getting enough water, your body has to take it from other places such as your colon. If your colon dries up then what do you think happens? Constipation, maybe some gas, bloating… not what you want? Drink water!

Drink 8-10 glasses of water a day. I drink lots of water! I have no clue how much a day but I’m better at work then when I’m at home. Mostly because at work I use it as a break from sitting at my desk all the time. (Much better than a smoke break!) At home I’m always on the go, so I tend to forget. Which is why I leave water bottles in the rooms that I spend the most time in. When I sit down or walk by it, I usually see it and grab a sip.

Water bottlesAnother tip is If you think you are starting to feel hungry, drink a glass of water. Sometimes we mistake hunger pains for thirst. Try a glass of water first before eating, it’s not going to hurt you!

Last thing, do your body a favour and drink a glass of water first thing in the morning when you wake up. You’ve just spent a whole workdays worth of time sleeping, without putting any water in your body. You need to replenish!

So your challenge for this week is drink more water! Seems simple? For some it will be a huge challenge but like I said your body will thank you for it and you WILL get use to it! Eventually you’ll even crave it!

If you have any suggestions, tips or comments about please leave a comment! I’d love to hear what you all have to say.

Comments
  1. […] I got was a water cooler/dispenser. Now I talked about how important water is to your health in an earlier post so you should already know why I bought this appliance. It’s always great to have a nice, […]

  2. […] my advice and have started drinking more water. Not sure what I’m talking about check out the post. and you’re probably thinking, this is crazy! I have to run to the bathroom every 10 minutes. […]

Leave a Reply

