Pomelo, what’s that?

Posted: January 29, 2011 in Food
Honey Pomelo

Honey Pomelo

This year, I am trying new things. I plan on trying new exercises, new foods, new recipes. Growing up I had my basics, apples, bananas, oranges and veggies like potato, asparagus, corn. We didn’t have tons of options, you kind of just ate what was put in front of you. I have to admit I was pretty picky and would sit at the table for hours on end because I just refused to eat some foods.

Now that I’m older I realize that there’s so many more options out there and so many ways of cooking things, that the foods that I thought I hated actually kind of taste good, if you try them different ways.

So with this blog you’ll get to experience some new foods with me, some new exercises, even new recipes.. who knows what this will bring. Maybe even check out some new restaurants! After all, it’s all about learning and you don’t know unless you try!

I was in the grocery store one day and I saw this huge fruit. It’s called a Pomelo. I though what the heck is that? I’ve never heard of a Pomelo before. Luckily the big bin of fruit had a short description beside it, which said it was a sweeter version of a grapefruit. I LOVE grapefruit but I admit they are a little bitter. So I thought why not give it a try.

I actually Googled it first on my iPhone before I put it in my basket to get more of a sense of what it tastes like. But it still made its way into my basket.

Now looking at the picture here it’s hard to tell you the exact size but I’d say it’s probably 2 to 3 times the size of a grapefruit. When you slice it in half, it still looks pretty similar but when you start to cut into it, that’s when you start to notice the difference. It’s much drier then a grapefruit. I find grapefruit very juicy, this has minimal juice and is more the texture of a pineapple.

When you bite into it, again it had the texture of a pineapple but the taste of a grapefruit, just a little sweeter. Not bad but I still prefer a grapefruit!

If you want to learn more about the Pomelo you can read more here.

To read about some of the health and weight-loss benefits of Pomelo follow this link.

Comments
  1. […] To learn more about last weeks new experience click here […]

Leave a Reply

