So when do I start to exercise?

Posted: January 31, 2011 in Fitness/Exercise, Food, Health

Working outYou start exercising NOW! You should get 30-60 minutes of moderate exercise every day but before you freak out and say what!? I NEVER exercise and now you want me to exercise 30 minutes everyday?

No, not exactly but that’s what your goal is. I mean, if you think you can do moderate exercise everyday, for 30 minutes, right away. Go for it! BUT…

I also think that the biggest and hardest thing to get past is your eating habits. Like I said you need to take things slow.. If you try to do too much, too soon, you WILL get frustrated and give up. I’m not saying to NOT go out and get exercise at all either. Go for a walk, play outside in the snow, go for a swim!

Before you really get serious about going to the gym or commit to anything long-term, start with your diet. Get rid of some of those bad habits first and it will make those tough work-outs much easier.

I know working out is just as hard as changing your eating habits but if you don’t have good eating habits at the beginning, when you start regular workouts, you’re setting yourself up for failure. Ease yourself into everything here. Moderate exercise to start, your goal is to not frustrate yourself and give up, your goal is to make changes, slowly, over time. Little changes that you can get use to, that you can adjust to before you move on to your next goal.

Remember you’ve had bad eating and exercise habits for many years, they aren’t going to change overnight, like magic. If it was THAT easy, you would have done it a long time ago!

I think the reason so many people think that going on some sort of “fad diet” is the only way to lose weight is because they want to lose it quickly. Hey so do I! But it’s not necessarily a HEALTHY diet and isn’t what will get you results that LAST. I’m not saying ALL diets are bad, you just need to look for a diet that will help you change your lifestyle over the long-term. Look for something that is easy to stick to and that doesn’t come with huge restrictions. It’s hard to stay on track when you know you CAN’T have something, kind of makes you want it that much more. Which makes some diets that much more frustrating. We’ll speak more about good/bad diets in a later post.

People really have no patience these days and with weight-loss, it’s all about having patience.

To lose weight and keep it off you NEED to watch the foods you eat and get regular exercise. You can’t have one without the other but if you are someone who hasn’t done either, you’ll have to introduce yourself slowly to both.

Only YOU know what YOU can handle. Only YOU know where your fitness level is, or what foods are your weakness’.

I can only tell you what I did when I started this process. It doesn’t mean it will apply to you, or maybe it does. This is just advice on where to start.

This whole eating healthy and working out thing, WAS a total mystery to me. I had never done both and succeeded, EVER! I had no clue what I was doing but this time around I went in with a little practice and had given it some thought on what went wrong in the past.

So what did I come up with? Why did I fail before? Well first off, I didn’t have a plan, I didn’t do any research. I went in blind! I just did what I thought was right and didn’t think it through. I had no clue what foods I should eat or why, what exercise I should do or why. I got a gym membership and didn’t go because I had no clue how to use the equipment and was too shy to ask. I thought I could get by with just using the swimming pool and that would be enough. I got bored real FAST!

What was my plan this time?

First, I started trying to figure out what those nutrition labels actually meant. I cut WAY down on sugar, cut out pop, cut out fried foods, cut down on carbs and fats, watched my sodium intake, ate smaller meals more often, shrank my portion sizes, drank more water. This was all over time and some things were easier to do than others. Sugar and fried foods were the hardest for me! Who am I kidding, it was all hard! But we all know it’s hard, that’s why we all have so much trouble losing the weight to begin with, it’s not easy. None of this is easy! But it will get easier.

You do need to do one thing though. Those labels on our food packages, you know the ones I’m talking about? Well they’re there for a reason! You really need to learn how to read them properly. Seriously! (A topic for the future? You bet!)

I made slow changes for a few weeks before I even started going to the gym. I was doing a bit of exercise, but not much. I wrote down my starting weight when I began this whole process, I was at 205 lbs when I started. A few weeks later(maybe 3-4 weeks) when I started going to the gym I was 196 lbs. I lost 9 lbs just by making changes to the way I ate..

This is where I give you a WARNING. If you’re thinking to yourself great! I don’t have to exercise, I can just change the way I eat and I’ll start shedding the pounds, you’re WRONG. It will come off at first, then you’ll slowly plateau and your weight won’t budge! You NEED to do both.

I know, not what you wanted to hear, sorry!

This is about your health and while eating healthy is a good start to getting healthier, the exercise is needed for a MILLION health reasons! Think of the weight-loss as a bonus to you eating healthy and exercising. It isn’t the goal. Your goal is to get healthy, to live longer so you can enjoy life!

Follow this link to learn about 7 little-known tricks that shave pounds.

Comments
  1. Losing weight and living a healthy lifestyle is all about staying focused and setting goals for yourself, as well as educating yourself on how to properly do this.

    I really enjoyed your article, and you are right about individuals not being patient and wanting to get fast results, but if they just took a moment set out a plan they would see the long term benefits of proper diet and exercise, and not just the short term

    • tialee11 says:

      Thanks so much for reading my blog! I obviously agree with ya, people need to learn patience, especially when they are trying to lose weight. Everyone is looking for a quick fix and when they do that, they are automatically setting themselves up for failure. This isn’t about a quick fix, it’s a lifestyle change! Stay tuned, more videos to come in the coming weeks. I’m working with a few fitness trainers and nutritionists/Dieticians on some videos in the coming weeks. Should help a few people out! Or atleast that’s the goal of the videos :)

  2. […] Exercise – I don’t know why I left this to the last but not all the changes in my life has to do with […]

Leave a Reply

