He’s SO fat!!!

Posted: February 1, 2011 in Pet Health

Furball when he was littleMy goal of this blog is to help those around me, friends, family members, co-workers, people who are looking for a healthier life-style. I’d like to introduce you to one of my family members.

I call him fat-so but his given name is furball! Let me tell you, he lived up to his name. He is a ball-of-fur! This picture of him on the left is when I first got him as a kitten, cute huh? Well, now he’s still cute but just in a big way! I’m not sure how much he weighs exactly but for sure he’s over  20 lbs!

Since I think it’s important for all family members to be in good health, including your pets I thought I would talk a bit about pet obesity today. I find it extremely difficult to find ways for furball to lose weight. It’s not like a dog and you take him for long walks and cut back on his food, or change to a different food completely. It’s really not that easy!

To top it off he follows me around meowing at me until I feed him and if I don’t he starts in on the dog food! If he runs out of food in the middle of the night he opens my door!My cat furball Yes, he physically jumps up and turns the handle and walks right in to wake me up!  I’ve actually resorted to putting objects up against my door before I go to bed to keep him out!

I’m interested to hear from those of you who read my blog different ways you have managed to get your cat to lose weight. I am also thinking of doing a video blog in the future where I take him to the vet to find out what they have to say.

Yes, I will do my best to include video of my cat opening my door! Since I know you don’t believe me!

If worse comes to worse I’ll get a treadmill because apparently cats actually do use treadmills. I always thought it was just humans and dogs! Apparently cats in their curiosity will give a try!

Check out cats working out on a treadmill video here

Comments
  1. Chantal says:

    A book I have suggests putting your cat on special food, making your cat forage fr it’s food, or checking with the vet for other diseases. A cat is the same exercise and caloric values as we do-energy in, energy out. I have a ball that realises food through a hole when Midnight plays with it. She doesn’t really use it, I bought it so she would stop eating so fast and making herself sick. My parents measure thier cat’s food, it’s a special seniors, indoor, weight control. Every cat food has that though, usually a measurement for the cat’s weight, just like humans have a caloric intake for their food and exercise, cats and dogs need that as well.
    That’s my two-cents LOL!

    Chantal

    • tialee11 says:

      Lol thanks Chantal! I guess furball will be having a visit to the vet soon to see what they say. I’m sure he’ll love that! Wonder if he still fits in his cage? lol

  2. Sarah says:

    I would take the cat to see the vet before you start a diet. I know you remember how big Paddington is, weighing in at around 23lbs. When I had him to the vet, I was told to make sure he never goes below 18lbs, since in general he is just a big cat (he actually is big boned!).

    I also had a hard time with him and getting him to lose weight. I cut down the amount he eats per day, and he would just chow down on the dog food, which is very bad for cats. And if there was no cat/dog food around, he would open the cupboard doors and nose around at the cereal boxes, garbage, etc. If the vet has suggests other than cutting back on food, let me know!

    • tialee11 says:

      Hey Sarah! Thanks, I’ll let you know what the vet says. As a matter of fact I was thinking of bringing the video camera in with me if my vet allows it and she can give some advice on camera to everyone! Thanks for reading my blog! Hope you are enjoying it!! :)

Leave a Reply

