Trying something new – Dragon Fruit

Posted: February 3, 2011 in Food, Gluten Free Recipes

This blog is all about learning and trying new things and this week I am once again trying a new fruit. I noticed this fruit in the grocery store and thought it looked interesting. This time I didn’t look it up on the iPhone I just grabbed it and put it in my basket right away. Maybe getting more daring?

Let me introduce you to the Dragon Fruit! Also known at the Pitaya Fruit.

After doing some research on this interesting-looking fruit I found some amazing health benefits that I thought I would share with you.Dragon Fruit

  • Regular consumption can help naturally reduce weight considerably.
  • Helps prevent colon cancer and diabetes.
  • Helps reduce cholesterol levels and high blood pressure
  • Dragon fruits are packed with Vitamin C which helps improve the immune system.
  • Vitamin B2 acts as a multi-vitamin to recover and improve loss of appetite.
  • Vitamin B1 plays an important role in the production of energy as well as metabolizing carbohydrates.
  • Vitamin B3 lowers bad cholesterol level and enhances the appearance of the skin by moisturizing and smoothing it.
  • Dragon fruits help excrete heavy metal toxins from the body.
  • Regular consumption of the dragon fruit works great for asthma and cough.
  • Carotene helps support and improve the health of the eyes.
  • The fruit serves as a food substitute for rice, for the diabetics.
  • They are low in calories and high in fibre. 1 fruit has about 60 calories

The Dragon fruit tastes like a Kiwi fruit but with a light sweet watery taste.

I found a dragon fruit recipe that sounds interesting..

Dragon Fruit Parfait

Ingredients

  • Lime juice, 1 lime
  • Greek yogurt, 400 g
  • Thickly slicked dragon fruit, 1
  • Tropical muesli, crunchy, 150 g
  • Acacia honey, 45 ml

Preparation

  • Scoop out half the yogurt and fill into 2 serving glasses.
  • Take a handful of muesli cereal and crumble it over the yogurt.
  • Top the yogurt with slices of dragon fruit. Pour a little honey and sprinkle lime juice on top of it.
  • Mix them mildly from the surface along with the yogurt.
  • Arrange the glasses and serve.

You can find this recipe and other Dragon Fruit Recipes at this link.

To learn more about last weeks new experience click here

Comments
  1. chanal125 says:

    We tried this in our cultural foods class, I liked it just on it’s own!

  2. Chantal says:

    Funny thing! They have tropical fruit on sale in the independent flyer starting tomorrow, Dragon Fruit was one of them! No excuse for people not to try it now!

    • tialee11 says:

      Lol! That’s funny! I’m enjoying trying new things.. makes it a first for me. I’m not big on trying new things. I like what I know. This is an interesting challenge for me!

Leave a Reply

