Recipe of the week – Turkey Quasadilla

Posted: February 6, 2011 in Food, Gluten Free, LCHF/Paleo

Quasadilla * After going gluten free I changed the recipe to use gluten free shells, if you are Paleo use the mix and put it on your salad or mix in with your eggs for a yummy breakfast.

TURKEY QUASADILLA

I LOVE Quasadilla’s and this recipe you can use turkey, chicken whatever meat your heart desires. I prefer turkey but experimenting is always the fun part when you cook! If you have the family over and cook a big turkey and are looking for ways to use up the leftovers, this is perfect! I usually buy a small turkey and use that.

2 small Gluten Free Tortilla shells – you can use larger shells if you want a larger serving

1/2 tsp canola oil

1/3 cup cut-up cooked turkey

1/4 cup diced green sweet pepper

1/4 cup diced red onion

pinch of chili powder( I use more, I like spices),

Pinch of salt & pepper

dash hot pepper sauce (again I use more the hot and spicy)

1/3 cup cheese (mozzarella or Monterey jack)

salsa (optional)

 

Turkey QuasadillaIn a non-stick skillet over medium heat, heat oil and add turkey, green pepper, onion, chili powder, salt & pepper, cook for 3 min or until onions begin to soften. Add hot sauce. Put mix into bowl and clean the skillet.

Put one shell in the skillet. Spoon mix over tortilla shell then add cheese. You can add the salsa (not too much) in with the mix now or use it as a dip after you’re done cooking. Place another shell on top. Cook 5 minutes then flip and cook until lightly brown and cheese is melted.

I prepare a batch of Quasadilla mix, then I freeze one serving in small individual containers. When I’m ready to eat it, I thaw it out or defrost in the microwave. A quick and easy meal!

Sometimes I just heat up a small serving and throw it on a salad.. a little bit of olive oil and vinegar dressing. Makes for a tasty salad!

Enjoy!

Choice menusYou can check out last weeks recipe – SMOOTHIES here.

I got this recipe from the Choice Menus – Cooking for one or two by Marjorie Hollands & Margaret Howard. Click on the picture and it will bring you to the link.

 

Comments
  1. […] gym, got some laundry done, went and got groceries. I got home and cooked a small turkey, made the Quasadilla mix so I can have Quasadilla’s this week or put the mix on salads. Then I made my chicken and […]

  2. […] gym, got some laundry done, went and got groceries. I got home and cooked a small turkey, made the Quasadilla mix so I can have Quasadilla’s this week or put the mix on salads. Then I made my chicken and […]

Leave a Reply

