Tiana’s weight-loss challenge

Posted: February 12, 2011 in Health, Hints & Tips

Ok so this is something that I did when I had lost some motivation to get to the gym. I was having a chat with my mom and realized that we both needed a little motivation to get us moving with our weight-loss again, so I came up with a little challenge for the two of us.

Now the important part here is to come up with something you have to give up but that you really don’t want to give up. We decided 100$ was a good motivator, I’m broke and giving away money wasn’t something either of us really wanted to do.

Here is how it worked, we gave ourselves 2 months to lose 10 lbs. Seems simple right? Well here’s the catch, if one of you don’t lose the 10 lbs in the 2 months or lose it then put it back on, you have to give the other person the money, only if the other person succeeded.

If you both succeed you both keep your money and the reward is the weight loss! Maybe you can throw in a dinner and movie at the end to celebrate! If you BOTH don’t keep off the weight, then well you both keep your money BUT you didn’t lose the weight, so you’re still in the same place as before.

We thought we’d give ourselves even more incentive and said that if we both take off the weight and keep it off we’d go somewhere to celebrate our success.

Tiana in Cuba!

Tiana in Cuba!

This was a huge motivation for me and managed to lose the 10 lbs in 2 months, my mom she went even further and lost around 20! At the end of the challenge, we went to Cuba! We used our 100$ on a massage while we were there :) Funny how we weren’t willing to part with our money at the beginning but after a few months decided we could let it go and then some..

The idea with this challenge is finding something that you don’t really want to part with, money is usually a good motivator but it could be anything like a favourite article of clothing OR if you’re challenging your significant other maybe you both own something the other really hates.. but you love. That could be something you put on the line here.. at the end you both keep your cherished possession if you succeed but if you fail you’ll have to say goodbye!

If you can afford to give out $100 and really don’t think that would bother you or give you any motivation to work out, then think of something else that you really don’t want to part with. I think for us the trip at the end of the challenge was an even better motivator, it was a celebration for succeeding. Plus I had never really gone anywhere before so it made me excited to lose the weight and keep going.

If you are already thinking of taking a trip somewhere, maybe you can put that trip on the line. You don’t succeed, you don’t go!

If you have more weight to lose you can set your goal a bit higher but for my mom and I the 10 lbs was a realistic goal for 2 months and was very achievable. If we lost even more than even better!

I’ve actually tried this challenge a second time with some friends, I had separate challenges for the same two months with 3 people.. for them they would only be out $100 at the end, for me I’d be out $300.. talk about motivation! It was working too until I ended up getting really sick and being off my feet for almost a month, but gonna try again soon!

Good luck everyone! And if you try this out, let me know how it worked for you ;)

Leave a Reply

