Recipe of the week – Easy chili

Posted: February 13, 2011 in Gluten Free Recipes, LCHF/Paleo Recipes

ChiliSo this is another recipe that I will freeze in individual servings and bring to work in my lunch along with some rice. I substitute the pinto beans with mushrooms cause I don’t really like the beans but the recipe is just as good either way!

Also if you want to cut out the extra carbs out of the chili the mushrooms are a great substitution for that too! If you want to make Veggie Chili you can replace the ground beef for 1 red onion and 8 ounces of chopped mushrooms.

1 pound lean ground beef, chicken or turkey

1 onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1 green pepper, seeded and chopped

1 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon cuminChili

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, or to taste

1 14-ounce can pinto beans, drained or 8 ounces mushroom

1 28-ounce can sodium-free diced tomatoes

In a nonstick dutch oven or stockpot(I use a regular old large frying pan), brown the ground meat, onion, garlic and green pepper over medium heat until the meat is fully cooked. Drain off the excess oil. Add the oregano, cumin, black pepper and beans. Stir together for 1 minute. Add the tomatoes and bring to a boil. Lower heat and simmer on low for 10 to 15 minutes, stirring occassionally.

Makes 6 servings

Nutritional Value(with beans)

Protein: 16 grams

Fat: 6 grams

Carbs: 21 grams

Conquer the fat-loss codeNutrional Value(with mushrooms)

Protein: 13 grams

Fat: 6 grams

Carbs: 11 grams

Recipe comes from Conquer the Fat-loss code by Wendy Chant.

Comments
  1. […] freeze them and just pack them in my lunch so I always have options. Right now in my freezer I have Chili, Turkey Quasadilla mix, chicken Cacciatore, Curry Chicken and Chicken and Rice […]

  2. […] freeze them and just pack them in my lunch so I always have options. Right now in my freezer I have Chili, Turkey Quasadilla mix, chicken Cacciatore, Curry Chicken and Chicken and Rice […]

Leave a Reply

