Trying something new – Blood Orange

Posted: February 17, 2011 in Food

Blood Orange I knew other types of oranges were out there but I was pretty stuck on eating the oranges I was already familiar with. I enjoy clementines,  they’re small and tasty and don’t have seeds! I am not a fan of picking out seeds from oranges.

I think with the Blood orange, I will be willing to deal with the few seeds I found because these oranges are yummy!

They look like a typical orange on the outside, though they are a bit darker orange in colour but when you cut them open you’ll see why they have their name.

The red inside was a bit of a turn off for me, until I peeled my orange and realized not all blood oranges are actually as red in colour. There’s a few different varieties of blood oranges and I guess I got one of the ones that isn’t all that red! It was still yummy though! I wonder which variety I got, I think maybe the Sanguinello because I found only a few seeds.

Moro is apparently the most colourful variety of blood oranges, while Tarocco, has a bit of a red pigment but isn’t as red as the Moro. The Tarocco orange is seedless.

Sanguinello has a reddish skin, few seeds and a sweet and tender flesh. Sanguinello is close in characteristics to the Moro. The flesh is orange with multiple blood-colored streaks.

So how healthy is this yummy orange?

  • Vitamin C – an antioxidant required for many metabolic functions in the human body, and can aid in repairing tissues and ensuring healthy gums
  • Folic Acid – This is also known as Vitamin B9. Studies show that folic acid helps against some cancers and heart disease.
  • Anthocyanins – Blood oranges’ red pigmentation contains anthocyanins. It’s believed that anthocyanins have anti-inflammatory properties that affect the collagen, and are also good for preventing cancer, diabetes and bacterial infections, as well as reducing the risk of heart disease.
  • Calcium – Which gives bones strength.
  • Vitamin A – maintains health of certain tissues like the retina, keeps the skin healthy and promotes regular development of skeletal tissue and teeth.

I’ll definitely be buying these oranges again!

Leave a Reply

