Be realistic!

Posted: February 18, 2011 in Fitness/Exercise, Hints & Tips

Be realistic!Weight-loss is all about learning and I think the biggest lesson I learned, besides being patient was being realistic..

People would always ask me, how much weight do you want to lose? I would say, I want to lose my belly! That was always my response because I really didn’t want to put a number to it. The number actually scared me and almost made me not want to bother. This is how I looked at it, if I lose 40 lbs and my belly is gone, then that’s my goal. If I get to 40 lbs and my belly is still there, I will try for another 10 lbs and go from there. Heck I have a hard time losing 5 lbs, how can I even think beyond that especially in the beginning? Just thinking about losing anything beyond 10 lbs makes me tired! I already want to take a break!

At the beginning I didn’t know how much weight was healthy to lose. What was the magic healthy weight-loss number? My fitness instructor told me that a realistic and healthy weight-loss would be around 1 or 2 lbs a week. Ok, that I can do! So, that was my goal. If I could lose 1-2 lbs a week, by 2 months I would be between 15 and 20 lbs of weight-loss! Not bad, I wish it would come off faster but as long as it was coming off, I was better off then where I was at, right?

When I would set a small goal like losing 2 lbs a week, it would seem easy, something I knew I could do!

If I didn’t set any goals at all, I would get frustrated really quick and give up. Then I’d try to start over again the next week, and guess what? You guessed it, I’d get frustrated again.

After a little while you’ll realize what IS and isn’t realistic. At the beginning I really just wanted to lose weight, the quickest way possible. I would think to myself, “I should lose 5 lbs this week” and then I only lost 1 lb and I’d be disappointed. But really what I was doing was setting myself up for disappointment.

So, set small goals and take this process day-by-day, don’t look too far ahead! Remember, this IS NOT A RACE!

What are ways you keep going while trying to stay on track to lose weight? Share your hints and tips in the comments!

If you’d like to see a before and after photo and find out how much weight I have actually lost so far, check out my ABOUT ME page here!

Leave a Reply

