No more excuses!

Posted: February 22, 2011 in Fitness/Exercise, Health

For so many years I used every excuse in the book to not exercise.. I was the queen of excuses! My easiest excuse had been my hips. If you haven’t read about my hip problem, you can read about it here. In short, I was born with my hips further in the sockets than they should be, so when I move the bones are closer together than normal and rub together. Because of this a lot of activities including walking, running, anything that puts pressure on those joints, hurt. I had to stay away from basketball and volleyball.. I was always told, if it hurts don’t do it, so I took it to heart and eventually I just stopped doing everything, as I got heavier everything would hurt that much more! It became harder and harder to do physical activities, to get any type of exercise.

This is the reason I started this lifestyle change, it was to keep myself from getting hip replacement surgery at a young age. My orthopedic surgeon told me that exercise and losing the weight would help the hip pain. I asked him how I could do that when everything hurt and he said, work through it and it will get better. It was worth a shot and he was right!

Well now I say, why can’t I do that? I’ve learned that if I get my muscles strong enough and my joints use to a certain movement, I can do most things, maybe I can’t do them as well as anyone else but I can still do them, without much pain, if any at all. Sometimes I’ll push myself too much and I hurt the next day but the pain isn’t nearly as bad as it use to be.

To compare now from then, in 2008 I couldn’t go for a walk without limping the next day from inflammation in my hip joints, I couldn’t do 5 minutes on the treadmill! Now I can go for long walks with my dog and even jog on the treadmill. A lot has changed since then but I still hide behind my pain and use it as an excuse to not take part in things I know MIGHT hurt.

Well no more excuses! The two most basic activities that I find hurt the most are long walks and riding a bike. These are both my goals for this spring and summer! Basically I want to know that I can do these things, that I have come far enough to know that I can do whatever I set my mind to and that I don’t need to hide behind excuses anymore to do these things that I never would have dreamed of doing 3 years ago!

On May 28th I will participate in the Ottawa Race weekend, I have signed up to do the 5km race. I don’t think I have ever walked let alone jogged at one time 5km, likely not even 1km. I can’t even say how far that is or how long it will take me. I don’t know if I’ll be able to jog but would love to try. All I know is I’m doing it! May 28th at 5pm I will leave the start line and set off on my own personal quest to prove to myself that I can do anything that I set my mind to. That the doctor who told me that “if it hurts, don’t do it” was wrong and that what he should have said was “if it hurts, go slower, don’t give up, it will get better!”

BikeI’m also going to do this for all of you sitting at home, in pain, thinking there’s no hope of getting better. There’s hope and I’m proof of it and I will prove it to everyone by doing something I never thought I would ever do! Then after that, I’m going to work towards getting back on a bicycle and this summer I’m going to go and rent a bike and go for a bike ride for the first time since I was a kid!

They both seem like simple things to do but for someone like me, they are both very difficult. I fear the pain! For so many years I have felt the pain when doing activities like these. I need to prove that I can do these two things so that after this, I have no more excuses!

If you want to participate in the Race weekend or have already have signed up, tell us why you want to take part. Do you have something to prove? Share it with us in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

