Mmm chocolate!

Posted: February 24, 2011 in Food, LCHF/Paleo

Lindt ChocolateSometimes I just feel like some chocolate. I can’t say I have a real sweet tooth, maybe more of a sour tooth but when I crave chocolate, I’ve just got to have it! If you’ve read up on the latest chocolate news lol well you’ll see that the media is dubbing chocolate as a super fruit.. yeah a super fruit.. wouldn’t that be nice?

Sorry to say, most chocolate, the chocolate you’re probably craving, isn’t all that healthy unless you go for the darker chocolate. As you can see I am partial to Lindt dark chocolate. When I craved chocolate before, it wasn’t very often and when I craved it I craved milk chocolate, you know the chocolate that has little cocoa and lots of sugar!

Yeah that’s the culprit right there, the sugar and while it tastes great it’s certainly not the best for your waistline. Now that I am watching what I am eating I still crave chocolate but I don’t dare go for the milk chocolate, or semi-sweet chocolate. I go for the dark chocolate. Want to know why?

The darker the chocolate the healthier it is for you, anything with 70% cocoa or higher the better!

Dark chocolate has a high antioxidant content. Why are antioxidants good? Well Antioxidants are a group of compounds that are increasingly thought to have many heart-healthy properties.

Some recent studies have shown that dark chocolate has reduced blood pressure, improved blood flow and showed mild anti-clotting effects and could help prevent plaque from forming in your arteries.Cocoa beans

Dark chocolate also has many minerals including copper, potassium, calcium, iron and magnesium and despite its reputation it has a low glycemic index, which means it doesn’t send your blood sugar spiking!

Now that doesn’t mean you should eat a bar of dark chocolate everyday but like everything, it’s good in moderation!

First time I tried dark chocolate, I hated it! It takes some getting use to and it’s better to try a lower % like 65% the first time you try it and as you get use to the taste, up the percentage.

I sometime bring a small piece or two of 70% or 85% Dark Chocolate in my lunch, the caffeine in it also gives me a good afternoon kick when I’m feeling a bit drained. I’m not a coffee drinker!

Want to learn more about chocolate and its many secrets check out this video with funky Food Science expert Dr. Kiki!

Do you think the recent studies are right, is dark chocolate good for you? OR if it tastes so good, it must be bad? Post your thoughts in the comments!

Comments
  1. […] Chocolate – I am not huge on chocolate but I do enjoy it once in a while.. these days I actually eat […]

Leave a Reply

