Slow cooker chicken and Rice Soup -GF

Posted: February 28, 2011 in Gluten Free Recipes

Chicken Rice SoupHow can you not love your slow-cooker? Cold winter months making a huge batch of soup, how can you beat that? It’s healthy, tasty, a great way to get some veggies into you! This recipe I usually cook while I’m doing things on the weekend because it only takes about 4-5 hours. You can’t leave it for an entire work day but it makes about 14 servings and takes about 30 minutes to cut everything up. A bit of prep work but you get 14 meals out of it! Freeze them and put them in your lunches! Yum! As you might have read, I freeze everything and bring the foods to work for lunch/dinners, it’s a quick meal when you don’t have the time to cook! Read my past post about freezing foods here.

Chicken Rice Soup
3 quarts hot water (12 cups)
1 medium onion, finely chopped( I use a little less, a little too much onion for me)
2-3 celery ribs, finely chopped
2 sprigs finely chopped fresh parsley
1 clove garlic, crushed ( I use 2, I love garlic)
2 tsp. salt( I use sea salt)
1/2 cup thinly sliced carrots
4 large skinless chicken legs and thighs
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
3 cups hot cooked white or brown rice

1. Combine water, onion, celery, 2 sprigs parsley, garlic, salt, carrots and chicken in slow cooker.
2. Cover. Cook on high for 4-5 hours.
3. Remove chicken when tender and de-bone.
4. Stir cut-up chicken back into soup. Add 1/2 cup fresh chopped parsley.
5. To serve, ladle soup into bowls. Add a rounded tablespoonful of hot cooked rice to each bowl.

*VARIATION: After 2-3 hours of cooking, add 1 cup raw long-grain rice to the slow cooker mixture, rather then adding the tbsp of rice to the soup after it’s done cooking. Cook on High another hour.

Comments
  1. […] Sunday I managed to get to the gym, got some laundry done, went and got groceries. I got home and cooked a small turkey, made the Quasadilla mix so I can have Quasadilla’s this week or put the mix on salads. Then I made my chicken and rice soup.. I spent lots of time in the kitchen Sunday chopping things up, I also made chili the other day so my freezer is nice and full for a little while again. I work late so I don’t have the time to cook meals during the week. I cook the meals on the weekend and freeze them and just pack them in my lunch so I always have options. Right now in my freezer I have Chili, Turkey Quasadilla mix, chicken Cacciatore, Curry Chicken and Chicken and Rice soup. […]

  2. […] Sunday I managed to get to the gym, got some laundry done, went and got groceries. I got home and cooked a small turkey, made the Quasadilla mix so I can have Quasadilla’s this week or put the mix on salads. Then I made my chicken and rice soup.. I spent lots of time in the kitchen Sunday chopping things up, I also made chili the other day so my freezer is nice and full for a little while again. I work late so I don’t have the time to cook meals during the week. I cook the meals on the weekend and freeze them and just pack them in my lunch so I always have options. Right now in my freezer I have Chili, Turkey Quasadilla mix, chicken Cacciatore, Curry Chicken and Chicken and Rice soup. […]

Leave a Reply

