Product Review – Zumba

Posted: March 1, 2011 in Fitness/Exercise

ZumbaZumba! Ever heard of this new dance workout craze? Well after I went to Cuba, I came back and had this itch to learn salsa dancing, thought it would be great for exercise. When I mentioned this to a co-worker she mentioned Zumba. I had never heard of it, so like usual I turned to google and looked it up. I watched some videos on YouTube and found the Zumba website! I was intrigued, so I ordered the DVD’s.

The DVD package came with 2 toning sticks and 4 DVD’s.. I have to say I have worn out the DVD’s, I use them all the time, they’re fun! It’s a great way to get some cardio in and it doesn’t really feel like you’re doing exercise, even though you work up a good sweat!

Here’s an example of what is on the DVD’s

I could probably do the routines blindfolded now because I know them so well. I started getting bored even after continually rotating through all the DVD’s. I decided to try to find something else so I did some more research and found out that Wii was coming out with a Zumba game!

It was before Christmas, so I put it on my wish list, but I only actually saw it in the stores once before it became sold out in Canada. I haven’t been able to find them in stores since, needless to say I didn’t get Zumba for Christmas!

I kept working out with my DVD’s and thought maybe I should give a class a try but I go to GoodLife and it doesn’t seem like the gym I go to has classes that work well with my schedule, so I haven’t actually been able to fit any in. Hopefully when the schedule changes the timing will be better..

I continued with the DVD’s through the winter, finally I decided to check on Ebay to see if I could find Zumba for the Wii on there.. I found lots in the States, so I gave in and ordered it. The game came in the last week of February and have gotten in many workouts with it this past week.

Here’s the trailer for the game..

I started on the intermediate lever, a 20 minute workout. They seem to be similar to what I learned on the DVD’s, which kind of disappointed me. I was looking for something new. There’s a couple of 20 minute workouts, basic, intermediate then expert then you go on to a 45 minute workout(the same routines as the 20 minute but all-in-one), then eventually you can move on to a Zumbathon which is 60 minutes long. The cool-down is the same in all of them, so far. I haven’t tried the expert routines yet and have only had the game for a little over a week so I’ll keep working on it and let you know my progress! I’m hoping that the routines change a bit more often, they’re fun, but if they’re the same for each level, I might get bored pretty quick again, especially since they’re so similar to the DVD..

Another thing I’m not very fond of for the game is that the person on the screen is actually all one colour, it’s not an actually image of a person. The reason why I don’t like this is they give you hand signals to do the movements and if the hands are out front you can’t really tell what they’re doing cause the arms/hands blend into the body. Also the image of the person is supposed to change colour when you do the move right/wrong, seems like a good idea but I wasn’t even moving at all and it was saying I was doing the move right. Doesn’t seem like it is very accurate!

The game is fun for a change but I like the DVD’s at this point a bit more just because they seem a little more difficult and you can actually see their movements!

I still think it’s really fun and I find that after a 45 minute workout I want to keep going cause I want to see what comes next! I can only do so much in one day though. I did a 20 minute then a 45 minute workout.. my hips are sore!

The problem is, Zumba is so much fun that I always want more and when I get use to the same thing over and over, I get bored quick with it and want to move on but I don’t have anything to move on to. Maybe I should go to classes too!

The DVD’s I give a 4 out of 5 and so far the game I’d say a 3.5 out of 5. We’ll see that may change when I get further into the game..

Tomorrow I’m back to the gym, so I’ll be combining my home workouts with my gym workouts again. Over the winter I mostly stick to home workouts. I thought it would be good to get back into the gym and get use to going regularly again as the temperature outside starts to warm up. Plus I need to start walking more (treadmill and outside) and prepare for my 5 k race in May!!

Leave a Reply

