Getting back to a routine

Posted: March 3, 2011 in General

This week I started working towards getting back into a regular workout routine for the Spring. If you’ve read some of my past blogs you’ll know that in the winter time I don’t make it to the gym as often as I would like to. I don’t like winter! I lived in the Arctic 3 years, so now I just rather avoid the cold when possible! During the winter months I do some workouts at home just so that I still am working out and maintaining my weight but I don’t bother attempting to workout more than 2-3 times a week. I know I can’t mix it up at home as much as I’d like to. I have Zumba, Wii games and the Total Gym as my main at-home workouts.

BUT once spring comes, I’m raring to go! I’m already feeling anxious to get outside! BUT it’s still cold out and I’m not very fond of walking in slush, cold winds and snow.

To help get rid of my winter blues, this week I’ve started to get back to the gym. I do have a 5K race to get ready for after all!

Monday I did a Zumba Wii workout at home, I think I overdid it, I was super enthusiastic and did over an hour of Zumba and Tuesday, I was sore.

Tuesday night after work I still mustered up the energy to get to the gym. I did weights, then the treadmill for 25 minutes, walking and even a bit of jogging but my hips were feeling it. So much so that I had to get off the treadmill and do the elliptical for a bit. The elliptical doesn’t seem to hurt my hips as much as the walking, I guess it’s the pressure on the joints with each step that makes the difference . I probably did about 35 min total of cardio, along with the weights, so not bad.

Wednesday morning, I got up early to do some Zumba again and my hips were hurting, I tried a 45 min workout and only lasted 20 minutes. Ouch! AND I had NO energy at all! It’s funny how quickly your body adjusts to not working out regularly. I think I’m realizing how important it is to sticking with getting to the gym more often during the winter months. I don’t like having to deal with sore hips like this.

I was use to the DVD’s and I could do them forever and never get sore, I was getting to the point where I was barely working up a sweat! Just goes to show you how your body gets use to a certain exercise if you do the same thing for too long. It’s almost like you’re not even exercising anymore. A 45 minute workout that use to get me sweating and my heart pumping, barely makes me break a sweat anymore. Not the case with Zumba on the Wii… my poor hips, I feel like I have the hips of an 80 year old sometimes!

I think until I get use to working out again, I should aim for every 2nd day of workouts instead of everyday. In the fall I was working out 5-6 times a week… I don’t think right now I can manage that. SO my goal for the next week or two is every second day of workouts (mostly at the gym), until I start getting use to moving again and the muscles/joints aren’t as sore, then I’ll start adding more until I get back to 5-6 times a week.

Thursday after work I’ll go to the gym again for my 2nd gym workout of the week. I’ll aim for one more either Friday or Saturday and if I can get a Zumba workout in inbetween I’ll try but I’m not going to push it!

Water bottlesWith foods I’m back to drinking mostly water, no more juice! I’ll have a sip of orange juice but I’ve watered it down because it’s too sweet now. I’ll also have protein shakes and smoothies now and then but water is my main beverage.

If I do go out for dinner I’ll make sure I know where I’m going ahead of time and find out what’s the healthiest foods on the menu. Most restaurants have menus online and you can find out nutritional information for menu items.

The hardest part is going to be when I go visit friends or family. I have no problem when I’m the one cooking the meals but when other people are feeding me, you have no control over what they cook. Just because I’m eating healthy, doesn’t mean the rest of the world is. I’ll have to watch my portion sizes and not splurge just because I’m eating somewhere else. The hardest part is taking the appropriate portion size without offending!

I have noticed when eating at other peoples homes my portion sizes are half if not less of what other people eat. I know I’m eating the appropriate size of meal but they aren’t and it makes it look like I don’t like what they’ve cooked. I know how much I can eat but I don’t want to offend either, so sometimes I’ll put a little extra on my plate and then I don’t eat it because I’m too full! So it’s a toss up, am I offending people because I don’t put as much on my plate as they do or am I offending them when I put too much on my plate and can’t eat it all, then it goes in the garbage? Probably better to not waste and stick to the smaller portions.

I know when I wasn’t eating healthy and didn’t know how much I should be eating,  I was eating the same portion sizes as everyone else. I think since I started eating smaller portions and eating more often my stomach shrank! I can’t eat nearly as much as I use to in one sitting but I’ll be hungry again in 3 hours. Maybe I should bring some healthy snacks, so I’m not tempted to overeat during mealtime? Eating smaller meals more often keeps your blood sugar levels from rising and falling dramatically throughout the day, which is a good thing. So I know what I’m doing is right but sometimes, it doesn’t feel like it! Wonder if my stomach really did shrink? Lol

Anyways, I’ll keep you all updated on my progress.. Right now I’m 158 lbs, so we’ll see where that goes in the coming weeks! Hopefully in the right direction!

Make sure to come back and check out my blog tomorrow! My first guest blogger Nutritionist Rachel Hewitt is writing!

Leave a Reply

