Mind over matter

Posted: March 10, 2011 in Fitness/Exercise, General

TreadmillIt’s funny how we tell ourselves we CAN’T do something, it’s like setting ourselves up for disappointment. I’m trying really hard to not do this anymore but bad habits die-hard!

Tuesday night I went to the gym and I stepped on the treadmill, my goal was to get to 2 km. Last time I did a little over 1 km and had to step off and go to the elliptical. I’ve never been able to jog for a long time at once and I think I keep telling myself I can’t do it, so I never do. This time I wanted to make it to 2 km, I figured I did 1 km in a little over 15 minutes, I should have no problem doing 2 km in 30 minutes. Simple enough?

I did 2 km in 30:30, darn! So close! I even jogged for a while! So tomorrow I am going back to the gym and I am going to do 2 km in under 30 minutes! That’s my goal for tomorrow..

30 minutes of walking on a treadmill for someone who has only been doing 20 – 25 minutes and adding jogging on top of that! I’m proud of myself, my hips weren’t so happy, they were really sore afterwards but I was proud, so who cares if my hips didn’t like it! Lol.

The joint pain in my hips didn’t last too long and it wasn’t bad enough that I had to take any medication to help ease the pain. Today it’s mostly sore muscles, muscles that haven’t been used over the winter months. I’m ok with sore muscles, sore joints aren’t much fun! You know what that means though? I’m improving! Like I said when I started losing weight, I couldn’t do 5 minutes of walking before my hip joints started screaming at me to stop.. slowly I’ve built it up and I know that this joint pain is only temporary and is really my fault from staying away from the treadmill all winter. Not sure what I am talking about you can read my blog post on why my hips hurt here.

Anyways I managed to go online and find a few tools I can use to help me with my walking, jogging goals. I thought I’d share..

You can find a treadmill Cheat Sheet at the end of this blog post and if you click here it will bring you to a treadmill calculator which calculates your speed, time and distance.

I also downloaded a couple of iPhone Apps that I’m going to try out in the next couple of months, once it’s nice enough to start walking/jogging outside. I’ll let ya know what I think of these apps in a later post. They are LogYourRun, Runmeter, SprintGPS and PaceCalc. Some I spent a bit of money on, so we’ll see if they were worth it! Has anyone tried these apps? Let me know what you think in the comment section, I’m really curious to hear what everyone has to say!

Make sure to come back tomorrow to check out guest blogger Janet Fougere’s blog post! Can’t wait? Check out the video I put up last week where Janet introduces us to squats!

Comments
  1. tialee11 says:

    Just and update! I did 2km in 29:36!! Tuesday it was 30:30! Yay I did it under 30 minutes! Try and keep up would ya ;)

Leave a Reply

