Looking for motivation…

Posted: March 14, 2011 in General

I have this new gym schedule this week that I’m trying to stick to. It’s only Monday and so far I am finding it hard to find the motivation to get to the gym after work. I know once I go, I’m fine but it’s to get there. I really prefer to work out at home but I lack the space so I’m stuck with the gym, for now.

How do you guys find ways to get motivated to get to the gym?

I’m thinking of going in the mornings again, not after work. I planned to switch in a couple of weeks but with daylight savings and the lack of energy after work I think it might be something I need now!

I’m also considering walking to work once in a while but I looked it up and it’s about a 10 km walk total. It’s not too bad once a day (5km) but twice, might be a little too much for me to start. Maybe a good goal to work towards?

I’m hoping that switching to morning workouts will help give me the energy and motivation to get to the gym, I’ll let you know, in the meantime please leave a comment and let me know ways you get yourself motivated. I’ll keep you posted on my progress.. hopefully this week, I’ll see some progress on my weight-loss!

UPDATE – so I made it to the gym, I got my upper body weights done and then started on the elliptical.. while walking over to the elliptical my hip really started to hurt. Kind of odd, so I’m not sure what caused it. I’m hoping it’s not the shoes. I changed my shoes today to my running shoes, bought them last year because I knew I was going to be walking/jogging more so I went to the running room and bought a great pair. I’m going to be pretty upset if it turns out that the shoes that I went and bought to help my hips, are hurting them. :(

I’m going to switch back to my older shoes for a few workouts and try again and see if I have the same problem. I’ll be very disappointed if that’s what happens. Even with the pain I did manage to do about 25 minutes of cardio, even with my sore hip. BUT when I got home I ate more than what I was supposed to because I was starving, so now I feel guilty. I will have to make sure tomorrow to have a snack before I go to the gym so I’m not so hungry when I get home! I didn’t eat lots of unhealthy food, just ate lots of food! Lol tomorrow is another day…

Once I get back into a good eating/working out system, I’m good to go.. it’s getting there that sucks!

Comments
  1. Remember not to beat yourself up. When life’s gotten too busy and I forget to eat I have that problem too. So, when I’m really hungry and there’s that chance I’ll overeat, I drink a glass of water while preparing my meal. Berating ourselves only makes us feel like we’ve failed and you have not failed my dear! Take it one day at a time and one moment at a time and you’ll get there. Spring is so close and life always gets easier with the Spring!!
    <3

Leave a Reply

