Recipe of the week – Chicken Cacciatore

Posted: March 14, 2011 in Gluten Free Recipes, LCHF/Paleo Recipes

Chicken Cacciatore8 ounces of chicken (Cut up)
1-2 tbsp olive oil
1 garlic clove minced
2 tbsp diced green onion
1/8 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp dried basil
1/4 to 1/2 cup tomato paste
1/2 to 1 cup mushrooms
Salt & Pepper to taste
1 1/4 cup chicken broth

Gluten-free!

In a large skillet brown chicken in olive oil with garlic & green onion. Add rest of ingredients & simmer until chicken is tender, about 45 minutes. Add more chicken broth if the sauce is drying up while cooking.

Comments
  1. […] in my lunch so I always have options. Right now in my freezer I have Chili, Turkey Quasadilla mix, chicken Cacciatore, Curry Chicken and Chicken and Rice […]

  2. […] in my lunch so I always have options. Right now in my freezer I have Chili, Turkey Quasadilla mix, chicken Cacciatore, Curry Chicken and Chicken and Rice […]

  3. Undead Ahead says:

    This looks amazing!! I really want to try this. I have a love for cooking and baking =)

    • tialee11 says:

      Oh you and I are going to get along really well! I have a recipe obsession. I love chowstalker.com and dessertstalker.com they have great recipes! I find them, copy them, print them and I have a huge binder full of recipes I find online..

      • Undead Ahead says:

        I’m going to have to check those sites out. I’ve never heard of them. I’m obsessed with recipes and I have a huge binder as well lol. I’d love to get around to cooking them all one day but for the time being I’m just going to submerge myself in pieces of paper with recipes on it lol. I bake almost every weekend or at least try to. I’ll be making some cupcakes again this weekend and I’ll see to it that I post it. I tend to find just random recipes online and try them out.

      • tialee11 says:

        Lol I have at least a thousand recipes in my binder, there’s no way I’d ever cook them all but I can’t complain that I don’t have options! I’m always adding to it.. I actually have 2 binders, one for meals and one for desserts and snacks. I’m never home for supper so I have to cook all my meals on the weekend and freeze them. I use to bake LOTS but not anymore since I cut out the grains. I only bake once in a while now (holidays) and it’s usually gluten free desserts. I have to admit though I miss bread, I LOVE bread but my body doesn’t, sigh..

      • Undead Ahead says:

        I don’t eat my baking. My mom is the same. She bakes every week but it’s for everyone else. I’ll have one bite on the day to try it then bring half in for some people at work and then rely on my fiance to eat the rest. He’s lucky he’s got such a good figure lol. Doesn’t put on a pound. I haven’t got to my 2nd binder yet but I look forward to it. I’m really into other countries food so my binder is categorized by country, then meats, different baked goods, appetizers and snacks. I think it’s more like an OCD thing. I like collecting crap and then organizing them.

      • tialee11 says:

        Lol too funny, I thought I was the only one who did that. Guess I’m not the only one who organizes my recipes. It makes things so much easier planning meals. I use to spend hours just looking through cookbooks trying to find recipes. Then I started taking the ones I liked out of the books and putting them in my binder.. now I don’t have to sift through tons I don’t like and they are categorized so I can find them easily. Not so much OCD just being organized and not liking to waste time.. I commend you on that!

Leave a Reply

