My new favourite food

Posted: March 29, 2011 in Food

Greek YogurtSo if you checked out my recipe post on Guilt-Free Rotini Salad recipe yesterday you might have noticed I was talking about my container of Greek Yogurt I bought and  couldn’t find anything to do with. Well the truth is, I tasted it and it was quite bitter tasting, kind of reminded me of sour cream. When I have yogurt I usually mix it in with berries.. my first bowl of Greek Yogurt, I did this but I didn’t like it at all! I had a hard time finishing the bowl. Not what I was expecting, so the next day I was thinking, what the heck am I going to do with the rest of the yogurt. I bought it so I could eat it with berries. I heard all these wonderful things about Greek Yogurt, it’s high in Protein(twice as much as regular yogurt), low in fat.. a much better option than your regular yogurt! And I agree but.. what do you do with it.. that’s when I got the email from Loblaws asking me to try their new product out. I of course replied saying I already tried it out and they invited me to check out other products and have me speak with their chef and dietitian. With this email they sent along some recipes to go with the Greek Yogurt. I was so happy, I’ve so far tried 3 out of the 4 recipes and loved all of them.. I have to tell you, after reading about all the things you can use Greek Yogurt for… it may be my new favourite food. I also took them up on their offer to visit with their chef and dietitian, you can check out that video later this week (I’ll try and get it up by Thursday).

Ok so here is what I found out, cause I know you’re wondering too! All the great ways to use Greek Yogurt!

1 -You can use it as a substitute for sour cream on Chili, in soup, add to nachos, tacos, burritos. You can serve with Indian dishes or combine it with pesto or olive tapenade as a dip for shrimp. Combine it with guacomole, add to mashed potatoes with olive oil, salt and pepper. Use in baking recipes instead of sour cream, buttermilk or full fat yogurt. I also added some onion soup mix to it the other day that created a nice and healthy dip for my veggies!

2- Use it as a substitute for mayonnaise – stir into tuna, chicken or egg salad with chopped celery. Combine with canned chipotle peppers and add to sandwiches and burgers.

3-  It’s also a great substitute for cream cheese – spread it on a bagel and top with smoked salmon and capers. Serve on wholegrain toast, with tomato, salt and pepper.

4- Makes a great substitute for whip cream – Dollop a spoonful on apple pie or ginger cake, serve on top of rice pudding, spoon on top of fruit crisps and drizzle with maple syrup or stir with raspberry or strawberry jam to top pancakes or waffles.

5 – OR just add some granola, nuts, honey and your favourite fruit to it for a yummy parfait!

If you’ve found a great way to use Greek Yogurt let me know, I’m always looking for new ideas just add it to the comments section! Enjoy!

Comments
  1. Just bought some for making a light waldorf salad…

Leave a Reply

