My secret to getting to sleep

Posted: April 1, 2011 in General, Health

If you are anything like me, getting to sleep… is a problem! This is more of a recent problem because of how busy my day has gotten. When I get home I am blogging or editing videos.. my mind is racing full of ideas so it’s really hard to just tell my brain to shut up and go to sleep. I lay down and it keeps going and going and going… Maybe it’s because I am still full of energy, I don’t know why. Once I’m asleep, I’m good, I’ll sleep all night and I usually sleep pretty well. It’s just to get to sleep! A couple of years ago I read an article online about ways to get to sleep(can’t find it now otherwise I’d add the link) and I read about visualizing white.. (probably where the counting white sheep came from)

So the next night, I visualized a white piece of paper or white board, white pillow.. anything I could think of that was white.. well, it worked! I thought it was a fluke, so I tried again another night when I was having a hard time getting to sleep. I think I might have lasted about 2 min after visualizing. This past couple of weeks, going to the gym, getting exercise in all the time. My brain just doesn’t want to stop, so almost every night I have trouble getting to sleep. Once I realize it’s an hour and I still haven’t fallen to sleep, I think why don’t I just think of white, I need some sleep! I swear, 2 minutes maybe 3 minutes later I’m out like a light.

As soon as I start thinking about anything white, visualizing white, I feel myself relax, almost like it resets my brain. I feel myself starting to doze off. It’s such a weird feeling, usually falling to sleep is something you don’t actually think about you just lay down and off you go into dreamland.. I’ve used this technique about 4 times this week and it’s always when I wake up the last thing I remember doing before actually falling asleep.. besides looking at the clock and realizing that I’ve laid in bed for an hour or 2.. lol

Try it, let me know if it works for you…

What other things do you do to help you get to sleep? Let me know in the comments below!

Comments
  1. Chantal says:

    I read a book before I go to sleep, sometimes it keeps me up later when I really get into a god book, but it relaxes my mind nad I go right to sleep, when I don’t read my book I have trouble shutting my mind.

  2. […] •    Seven hours per night is minimum & the lack of sleep aggravates the stress •    Check out Tiana’s blog post – My Secret to getting to Sleep— it really works! 4. Remove yourself from the situation •   […]

Leave a Reply

