I need a new scale

Posted: April 4, 2011 in General

My scale sucks.. if I stand on my scale and shift my weight so it’s on my toes/front of the feet, I can easily add 5 lbs onto my weight but if I stand with the weight on my heals, I lose.. So every time I stand on the scale I have to try to stand the same way or my weight is drastically off. I think it’s time for a new scale. So I am going to start saving my money for this new scale.

I honestly am not a huge fan of knowing exactly what my weight is.. If I’m 140 and I don’t have a belly, I’ll be happy.. even 150 and no belly I’ll be happy. My goal is to slowly lose weight until I’m at a point where I’m happy with how I look, where I can fit into clothes and my spare tire isn’t the only thing I see..  I want to look lean and fit not anorexic and too skinny. As long as I’m not gaining I don’t care, but for the longest time I looked at the number on the scale. 190, 180.. it really just made my day or ruined it when I stepped on that scale, often it would completely sabotage my weight-loss goals all together. Not so much anymore but after doing some research I found a scale that might help… say hello to the Quantum Scale!

What I like about this scale is basically you step on it the first time and it calculates your weight.. it doesn’t display your weight but rather every time you step on it following it gives you a + or – amount rather than your actual weight. It’s a personal scale, so you can’t share it with other family members.. it’s meant for one person. It has a max of 330 lbs but rather than stepping on the scale and seeing that you’re 300 lbs you’ll see that you’ve lost 10 lbs total since the first time you stepped on the scale.. Way more motivating to see a -10 then the 300 lbs..

I think it’s a brilliant idea and I’m saving for it right now.. Once I get one, I’ll let you know how I like it.

What do you think of this type of scale, do you think something like this would help you with your weight-loss goals? For many of us that scale is evil, this scale seems way more weight-loss friendly doesn’t it?

Comments
  1. Rachelle says:

    I think in theory this scale sounds great as I have lots of weight to lose. I guess my question would be when do you know that you are at your target/ healthy weight? Would you buy a second scale to weight yourself say once a month or something. I left you my web address but I am just starting my blog it’s a little rough still. I also live in Ottawa so it’s great to follow a blogger that lives in the same part of the world as me. Keep on blogging I love reading your blog!

    • tialee11 says:

      See for me, it’s not the weight I”m concerned with.. how do you really know what weight is right for you? With me I remember what weight I was in HS but I also wasn’t healthy in highschool.. I was eating unhealthy foods, wasn’t exercising, didn’t have any muscle at all. For me, when my belly is gone, or at least not as obvious in my clothing… where I feel comfortable in my clothes, I look healthy and fit.. that to me is the right weight… I love food I’m not going to starve myself, I don’t think that people who are too thin look healthy and I never want to look that way.. I don’t think my goals should be based on a number on the scale but rather how you feel about yourself, how you feel in your clothes… if you feel great. Who cares what the scale says. Realistically I know what my weight is right now so if it says I’ve lost 10 lbs then I think I can do the math and know generally where abouts I’m at.. but the number isn’t that important to me.. personally. Lots of people it is, maybe when it shouldn’t be…

  2. Rachelle says:

    I think I forgot to put my email in last time so I added it. Have a great night.

Leave a Reply

