Darn gluten..

Posted: April 12, 2011 in Food, General, Gluten Free

A couple of weeks ago, I talked about gluten intolerance.. I haven’t mentioned it since but I want you to know that I am still working and struggling to cut gluten out of my life. This is my second time cutting gluten (Wheat, barley and rye) and I have to say I’m already noticing a difference. I feel better, I have more energy, my headaches that were starting to come back more often have now disappeared again. Generally I feel well (even last week when I had a cold) BUT this gluten thing is not easy. Gluten is everywhere and while I do great during the week when I have control of what I eat, when I go visiting, it’s hard. I don’t expect people to change what they’re cooking because of me, I can usually eat some gluten and it doesn’t bother me but when there’s a lot of it in a meal, I feel horrible after I eat it. Almost like huge pains in my stomach, like someone is stabbing me. It’s so uncomfortable and even lasts for a couple of days, feeling lethargic and uncomfortable.

I think I might have to get into the habit of bringing snacks with me when I go visit friends and family so I don’t have to worry about not having anything to eat if I don’t have lots of options during meals. I just have to plan better and make better choices. (I love garlic bread and pizza!) I’m still slowly getting rid of food in my home that has gluten and since I don’t eat it very often, it is hard but I don’t want to get rid of all of it since other people do come to my home.

I don’t crave it any more and I have to say, this time it is MUCH easier. I hardly even notice that I don’t eat it. I guess I had already cut a lot of it out of my life. So this time it was just a matter of cutting a few things out, instead of completely changing how I ate. Before I would eat a sandwich every day in my lunch, I would eat fried foods and breads, pasta all the time! Now I rarely have a sandwich and I can easily substitute for gluten-free bread if needed, I rarely eat pasta ( I eat rice instead) and fried foods I pretty much avoid…

I guess lately I started getting too comfortable about not watching how much of it I was eating and it became a regular almost every day part of my life again when it shouldn’t have been. (Bread, cereal, snacks) While none of what I was eating was terribly unhealthy, it has become obvious I need to cut it out as much as possible. I have come to terms with the fact that I can’t eat gluten, there are foods I will never get to eat again. I’m ok with that (It took a very long time to be ok with it) but the hard part for me is explaining it to everyone else because most people don’t understand. I don’t know if I have Celiac disease and have given up trying to figure it out now since it’s so hard to get a diagnosis. For me I think it’s also easier to deal with a gluten intolerance than Celiac, probably not good to not know but either way, I need to cut it (gluten) out.

I know I’m not alone with having this in my life but sometimes I feel like I am because so few people know much about it..

I will continue to post recipes on my blog, but from now on they will be gluten-free. If there’s a recipe that isn’t gluten-free, I will try my best to include gluten-free options or substitutions..

I just hope that I don’t have to throw a lot of food out, it’s such a waste of food. I have whole wheat flour in my cupboard and have decided to use it up when I get a chance by baking my some dog treats… anybody has any good suggestions for dog treat recipes? lol

Anyways just thought I’d update you on this part of my life, I don’t tend to talk about it very often because like I said, not a lot of people understand it but it’s something I have to deal with so I figured I should share.

It actually is a good thing to have in my life in a way because it keeps me away from unhealthy foods, it makes it easier to stay away from foods that will just add-on pounds… and WAY easier to say no when someone offers me a cookie because I can pretty much guarantee when they do, it’s not gluten-free! Lol

Comments
  1. Rachelle says:

    I’m sure you already now this but since so many people have developed a gluten intolerance and others have just decided to cut it out of their diets there are now many great products in the grocery store. I have tried one of the cereals at a family member’s house don’t remember which one but it was pretty tasty. It’s nice to know that there are options out there for people with gluten issues.

    • tialee11 says:

      Yeah I have a huge list of things I like and things I don’t but it’s still easier (and cheaper) to make your own food and avoid buying pre-made stuff from the stores. I eat mostly natural foods these days and avoid preservatives, I know what I need to look for when shopping and I just crave foods that are more natural these days then the packaged stuff. I actually don’t remember the names of most of what I buy, I just grab them.. I know what they look like but don’t always remember the brands.. you’re right though, there’s lots of options. Grocery stores have many more options even in the past couple of years since I started gluten free, there’s bakeries, bulk barn is great too for gf foods! I don’t have a hard time finding foods to eat, the thing I have a hard time with is when I don’t have control over what foods are available.. like going to someone elses home for dinner..

Leave a Reply

