Zero means zero

Posted: April 18, 2011 in General

No gains, no losses.. zero! I apparently have mastered the fine art of maintaining my weight. I have stepped on my brand new Quantum scale(almost every day) for the past week and a half, each day I see a zero. Not even a +0.1 or -0.1 just a zero!

To me this says two things..

1. That I am doing something right. I’m eating healthy and getting just enough exercise during the week that I can maintain my weight.

2. That I could be doing more. Obviously if I am this good at maintaining when I am only exercising 2-3 times a week, then I am guessing with a little bit more effort on my part in the exercise/food department.. I will lose!

I don’t count my calories, I eat when I’m hungry and I eat healthy foods.. I unfortunately, since being sick have only gotten 2 maybe 3 workouts a week in but none of those workouts have been at the gym. I walked 5 km, did zumba, climbed the stairs, used my total gym a few times.. and that’s it! But for me, that’s not enough, clearly!

It is a bit refreshing to know what I need to do to maintain my weight and what to do to lose weight. It really is only a matter of making a few minor changes in my foods(eat more veggies) and my exercise, get a bit more in. It’s also sooo good to know that I can easily maintain my weight when I do reach my weight-loss goals.

I think when you start losing weight and you see this huge number ahead of you, the fear takes over and almost makes you not believe in yourself. These voices in your head take over saying, I can’t do this, it’s too hard, it’s too much weight, why do I think I can do this now, when I haven’t been able to ever do this before?

One word, determination… If you are determined, you will succeed. Tell those annoying voices in your head to shut up, you can do it, you will do it! You will learn what your body can handle, you will learn how much food you need to eat to maintain, how big of a serving you should be eating, how much exercise you need, what foods you like that are healthy, what kind of exercise you can do that you enjoy.

The thing is, you don’t know any of this until you do it, you have to try, you have to figure it out by making mistakes, by gaining, by reaching a plateau and by succeeding. Small victories are victories none the less! ;)

To me, maintaining a zero for over a week, is a small victory.

Have a great Monday!

Comments
  1. Carrie says:

    Awesome! I love your attitude. So many people completely beat themselves up if they haven’t lost anything. But maintenance is so important!

    Your scale sounds so interesting, but I don’t think it would be right for me. I like to see the number. Sometimes I smile at it, sometimes I frown at it, but I need it, lol.

    You’ve definitely had a victory though…good stuff!

    I myself need to change up my routine and food. I’ve been eating things I shouldn’t. Not anything bad per se, but things that aren’t in my plan. I’ve also not been going to the gym enough. Only 2 or 3 days a week. Time to step it up.

    • tialee11 says:

      Lol yup I agree time to step it up for me too!
      I like the scale because it’s way more accurate than my old one and I don’t care if I see my weight, I care if I maintain or lose at this point..

Leave a Reply

