Pick it up, turn it around and read!

Posted: April 26, 2011 in General

One of the biggest mistakes people make when grocery shopping is not knowing what you’re looking for. I don’t mean making a grocery list and grabbing what you need. That is definitely something you should be doing but not what I’m trying to get at.. what I mean is labels.

People are afraid of the labels, they trust that what is on the front of the package is all they need to know, when really it’s what isn’t on the front that is the most important information.

When companies package food, their ONLY goal is to grab your attention… to stand out, to get you to pick it up and put it in your grocery cart, and if they did their job right you read the front of the packaging and you think what you are doing is the right thing, the healthy choice but what they don’t want you to know is the truth lies on the back!!

They are counting on the fact that most people don’t read the ingredients, they don’t look at labels.. they’ll deceive, use fancy words, stretch the truth, all to get a sale. That is the job of the front packaging..

With weight-loss, the KEY to being effective, to really losing weight, is knowledge. I have said it many times and I will say it over and over… it’s sorting through all the garbage and finding out the truth about foods that you are putting in your mouth, learning how much food you should be eating, the proper portion sizes, how foods get processed. Even just the basics can teach you so much!

The more you know about the foods you are eating, the way your body works, how it processes foods, how it stores fat, the easier it is to make the right choices.

The thing is, most people are looking for the quick fix. They don’t like to cook or maybe they don’t know how, it’s easier to find something that is already prepared. Well I agree BUT what is wrong with you doing the prep work and creating the meal yourself ahead of time, when you have the time. Freeze it, store it. It is there for a quick meal, a light snack, a grab and go.

Be creative and you’ll find a way.

Snacks are easy, fruits, veggies, nuts, slices of cheese and a few crackers are the basics but you can get even more creative and come up with plenty of quick and easy/healthy solutions. I always have snacks in my purse when I’m away from home.

I never know when something will come up and I”ll be away from my kitchen longer than I thought. I even bring my own desserts when I visit friends and family so I don’t over indulge in something that is unhealthy.

I am sure if you put your mind to it, you can find ways to bring healthier foods into your life. If you are not sure where to start, all you have to do is ask, you can ask me (tiana.macleod@sunmedia.ca) you can ask friends, family anyone in your life who is finding success in eating healthy and losing weight. One thing that you will find is those who have figured it out are usually more than happy to share the wealth of knowledge they have learned and pass it on…we all want to help those around us become healthier and happier!

Take that next step, whatever it is that you need to do to become healthier.. If I can do it, I have 110% faith that you can too!

Leave a Reply

