Spring cleaning

Posted: April 28, 2011 in General

Each year I do a spring cleaning, I clean out my kitchen cupboards, I clean out my closet, I clean all the winter crud out/off my car..

This has become a twice a year thing since I also do this in the fall as well.

In the winter I’m all about clothes that are warm and comfortable, jeans, t-shirts and sweaters. I don’t like being cold so anything else is not very appealing. In the summer I wear skirts, blouses, nicer clothes, it’s a time for me to get a little dressier and enjoy the skinnier me.

Last year I went out and bought a bunch of new blouses and at the time, some were tight, some I couldn’t even wear right away. I tried those tops on this year and they feel loose and big… so that was a nice surprise! When I buy new clothes I throw out an old piece of clothing that I no longer fit in. I can’t wait for the day where I can actually buy a top and not have to get rid of anything unless they have been worn out. Not because I have lost, not because I have gained. Because I’ve reached a good weight and I can finally build up my wardrobe and not buying an article of clothing and getting rid of one.

At this point, I only have 2 pair of good jeans (both too big) I don’t want to buy more until the end of the summer, in case I lose weight over the summer.. And maybe enough tops/blouses to last through the week. I have a bathing suit that’s too big and it just always seems like I need clothes and never seem to have much choice. Someday!

This weekend I’m going shopping, I hate shopping but I plan on buying a couple new tops, maybe a skirt or cargo pants. I use to HATE shopping. I got to the point where I could only buy clothes in Plus size stores and that was depressing, nothing seemed to fit. I’m too tall, which still poses a problem. These days, things are fitting better and if I find a top or anything that I like, they usually have my size. Might not fit how I would like but at least I now have a size option. That use to frustrate me so much when I shopped and just couldn’t find anything I liked in my size.

Needless to say, I’m looking forward to buying a few new clothes, seeing if I can actually go down a size again. It makes you feel good to shop for new clothes, clothes that fit, clothes that look and make you feel good. I’m glad I don’t hate shopping as much anymore, but trust me I still will always HATE shoe shopping! They just don’t make nice comfy shoes anymore without having to pay an arm and a leg for them!

Anyways I’ll let you know how my shopping goes, hopefully I’ll find a few nice things. Maybe I’ll even post a couple of pictures!

Comments
  1. Rachelle says:

    Hope you had a great time shopping! I also have the buy something new throw something old out but it seems that everything in my wardrobe needs to be replaced cause everything is too big. My issue is I always wait till I absolutely need to buy something cause I’m afraid of gaining the weight back. I guess I’ll have to suck it up and go shopping soon.

    • tialee11 says:

      I did that for the longest time, until I was to the point where I just didn’t have any clothes and you couldn’t even tell I lost weight because all my clothes were so big. I just decided that I needed to get rid of the old clothes, I didn’t need an excuse laying around my home for me to put the weight back on. When I start gaining even just a little bit now, I know I have no “Big” clothes to fit into so I have to stay close to my current weight, otherwise I’ll be very depressed having to go out and buy new “big” clothes. I have come to the realization that I have made so many changes in my life now, that getting to the point where I have to have bigger clothes will never happen unless I get pregnant. In that case, I gain a bit, wear maternity clothes and that’s the only time I’m willing to accept a weight gain. I haven’t come this far and worked for this long on keeping the weight off to put it back on. Even when/if i’m pregnant I will be sure to continue exercising and watching what I’m eating. Hopefully my cravings don’t go into overdrive.. lol (that’s the part that worry’s me the most) Slowly getting rid of clothes one at a time, makes it easier than trying to buy a whole bunch at once. I was only able to find a couple this weekend that I liked. So I’ll try again in a week or two, somewhere else. ;) Thanks for the post, and hope you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

