Coconuts: The tree of life

Posted: May 2, 2011 in Food, Health, LCHF/Paleo

Remember that Harry Nilsson song? Put the lime in the coconut and drink it all up… If ya don’t remember here’s the song, found it on YouTube!

I think Harry was onto something here… the coconut is freaking amazing! How many fruits can you think of that have so many uses next to the coconut? Let me break it down for ya;

  • Coconut Leaves produce good quality paper pulp, brooms, hats and mats, fruit trays, fans, lamp shades and decor, bags and utility roof materials.
  •  Now the roots can be used to dye stuff and for medicinal purposes, while the husk is used to obtain coir which is a fiber used for rope, matting and coarse cloth.
  • The spathe and guinit can make caps, helmets even handbags and the trunk can be used for making building parts, furniture and novelty items. I’m sure you have seen people drink out of a coconut shell but it can also be used for cooking and handicraft items and you can even make an alcoholic drink, coconut toddy or tuba out of a coconut.

So obviously the coconut has many many uses BUT for someone like me it also serves a purpose for weight loss and overall health. When I discovered all the great health benefits of coconut I quickly integrated it into my meals each and every day!

The coconut meat, water and oil are very useful for our health.. these 3 parts of a coconut have a long list of health benefits and if you haven’t started eating, drinking or cooking with coconut I highly recommend starting now! Here’s why;

  • Just one tablespoon of raw coconut oil in the morning is said to boost your metabolism all day long! You can get antiviral and antimicrobial benefits of lauric acid by using coconut butter (oil and butter are the same thing left at different temperatures). Even though it has high saturated fat, the fat in coconut butter is used in healthy ways by your body
  • Coconut water is naturally fat-free, low in carbs and calories(just 19 calories in a 100 gram serving). It improves digestion, helps your body absorb nutrients, improves insulin secretion, helps protect against osteoporosis and even provides a boost in energy and endurance, enhances athletic performance while helping to repair and heal tissue (a great thing for athletes).
  • Coconut water is a natural diuretic. It also supports thyroid function. It will increase the body’s metabolic rate which will help with weight loss. It is used by the body to produce energy instead of being stored as body fat like other dietary fats. It has healthy fatty acids which do not circulate in the bloodstream like other fats but are sent directly to the liver where they’re converted into energy just like carbs.

AND DID YOU KNOW?

– Coconut water is the same as human blood plasma. In the past it was used as plasma for blood transfusions in many countries throughout the world. During the First World War it was used as a replacement for plasma because it’s sterile, does not produce heat, does not destroy red blood cells, and is readily accepted by the body. Wow it really is the tree of life!

With so many amazing health benefits ( I only named a few) I ask myself why have I not been eating coconut before now? I have no clue but it will be in my daily diet forever. I will also continue using it on my skin (has gotten rid of all of my dry skin) and in my hair. I leave the oil in my hair for anywhere from 30 minutes to overnight and it leaves my hair soft and keeps it from getting dried out. Use a very tiny bit after you shower too, before you dry your hair to keep it from drying out when styling. I stress use a little, a bit too much and your hair will look oily! I use it as an oil substitute in recipes, when I’m cooking(frying), I drink coconut water after a workout and drink coconut milk instead of regular milk. You can even try So Delicious they have vanilla and chocolate flavoured coconut milk that is yummy! You can find it in grocery or health food stores.

I am finding new ways to use coconuts all the time, lots of great recipes can be found online. Here’s a blog I found that is just about coconut recipes, it is fantastic! And they have gluten-free recipes too!

You can also find many many more health benefits of the coconut at this link.

So why aren’t you eating coconuts?

Comments
  1. Rachelle says:

    Wow great Blog. I never knew of all the benefits of the coconut i just like the taste. I’ll feel better eating it now that I know it’s doing all my body good. Thanks for the information and I will be trying the So Delicious soon.

    • tialee11 says:

      No prob! ;) I keep finding foods that I like but when I find one that I love and it has so many health benefits, I can’t see ever not eating it! I just can’t say enough good things about coconuts! lol Too bad for people who don’t like them, they’re missing out!

Leave a Reply

