Video: Sugar – The bitter truth

Posted: May 15, 2011 in LCHF/Paleo Video

As I research more and more on what works and what doesn’t with losing weight I have come across some very interesting things. Things that not only change the way I think about losing weight but it goes against what we have been told for years. The funny thing is that the more I read about these things, the more they make sense. The more it makes me think, why the heck were we doing it wrong for so many years?

If you do your own research, you will likely come to the same conclusion on the reason people today are fat. Why we have changed the way we think to believe that what we are doing is actually right. We just don’t seem to be getting the results that we want out of it. Why is that? It’s not because we are all lazy, why is it someone like me who is reasonably active and eats very healthy can’t manage to get the rest of the weight I want to come off? It must be something wrong with me, something wrong with the way I process foods, I’m not exercising enough, I’m eating too much? MAYBE but after reading LOTS and I mean LOTS… (I don’t read novels, I don’t read magazines) I read facts, I read what works for people and often what works, I read studies and doctors notes and really what works is completely opposite to what we actually are doing.

This video that I found completely made my jaw drop! Yes it’s long(An hour and a half) but if you are not convinced by the end of this video that what we have done all these years is not the reason we are all obese, that carbs and sugar aren’t making us fat, I’d be shocked! If you still believe after this video that low-fat, high protein is what is going to get you to where you want to be, to that skinnier you. I will be shocked. Check out the video and if you are still not convinced, do some research on your own.

Allow me to direct you to one of the more interesting reads I have had as of late, it’s Author Gary Taubes. Now if you read a bit about him you will find he has a science and journalism background but to me this says ALOT. First of all he is going into this to learn the facts to find answers because like myself he is amazed by how with all the things we have done in the past decade to fight obesity, we still have a society that is getting BIGGER. He isn’t on one side or the other, he went into this to find out the facts and I have to tell you, what he finds out will make you think and make you realize what we are all doing might just be WRONG.

Gary Taubes – Good Calories, Bad Calories or Why we get fat and what to do about it

The Good Calories, bad calories is a book that looks at all the research over the years and what was looked at, what was missed, left out or ignored all together, to get us to where we are today. It is a lot of info, a long and technical book but if you go to the link I provided you can read all the 300 and some reviews the book has and you will see that this guy is onto something. The 2nd book is basically an easier to read and understand book, same sort of concept as the first book but in more detail of what to do about it.  (Also another 200 comments/reviews on that book) They are both vastly different but with the same point getting across.

As of today I am going to adopt these new ways of eating and see if it will help in my struggle to lose the rest of the weight I want to lose. I know it’s not going to be easy but clearly what I am doing now isn’t working! The video if you watched it is also very technical and even has some biochemistry in it. But even watching the part about biochemistry and only getting bits and pieces of it I still managed to understand what he was saying and the conclusion I have come to is this.

We should all be eating more fat, protein and fibre and less carbs/sugar. It’s something that Inuit did for many many years before they were introduced to a Southern diet(Carbs and sugar) and started to put on more and more weight. The more I think about it, the more it makes sense! Why would the government admit they were wrong all these years? That’s a really big oops isn’t it? To admit that even though we have pushed the “no fat is good for us” all these years, maybe just maybe we were wrong.

It also makes sense to me because the more I eat coconut oils, the better more amazing I feel. No I’m not losing weight as much as I should because I am still eating too many carbs(this will change) but how can it be that the fats I eat, butter, oil, cream, coconut milk and lots of it, isn’t making me fat and I have more energy than ever before? Today I didn’t eat much fat but LOTS of carbs and I feel TIRED AND AWFUL, like I need a nap. I haven’t felt this way in over a week…

You have to listen to what your body is telling you. If something isn’t working, try something else until you find out what does work. We’ve had the “fat is bad” ingrained into our heads for so long we actually whole heartedly believe it. Not me, not anymore.

My margarine is gone, my sweeteners, diet & low sugar foods, gone, my low-fat foods, gone. These foods are made by man to change the way we eat from something that WAS working long ago, is this new stuff working for us? NO, not at all.

My next conclusion from the video is this – Sugar is toxic – if you watch the video you will agree with me but if not think about this…

Alcohol we all agree is not good for you, you drink it and your body has a hard time processing it, you get addicted to it, it is toxic to our bodies our liver doesn’t like it, our body doesn’t process it very well, it causes crazy and unhealthy side effects, agreed?

Did you know that alcohol is actually sugar? Fermented sugar… and sugar, especially Fructose and High Fructose corn syrup(not glucose) does the same thing to our bodies as drinking alcohol, it’s processed the same way, but it just doesn’t give you the buzz alcohol does. So sugar=toxic..

Think about it, I love AH HA moments…

Make sure to check out and LIKE my Facebook page I just created. The goal is to spread the word of the LCHF lifestyle so that we can start getting EVERYONE HEALTHY again.. If you are from another country, start your own LCHF page on Facebook and help spread the word.

Comments
  1. Carrie says:

    I already follow this type of eating plan. I stay far away from sugars and carbs. I am carb-sensitive and they effect me badly. I will pile on the weight, be very tired, cranky and low-energy if I eat carbs.

    I consume good fats and I’m not afraid of fats.

    These rules were the first things I learned when I started this journey. I read it in an Atkins brochure.

    It was explained that eating this way will train your body to burn fat rather than carbs, and therefore burn off the fat that your body is storing.

    Another place that I learned some of this information is Dr. Mike Moreno’s book, the 17 Day Diet (after watching Dr. Moreno on the Dr. Phil Show)

    Works for me so far: Lost 9 pounds in 8 or 9 weeks (no calendar in front of me)

    Could have lost more but I fell prey to carbs a few times and went backwards on the track, lol.

Leave a Reply

