It’s all because I read a book

Posted: May 18, 2011 in Food, Health, LCHF/Paleo

Like you I am one of the ones who believed that fat was bad for us. I never even questioned it until recently when I read a book that explained all the super foods that are out there. It mentioned coconut as a super food for weight-loss, so as I usually do, I googled coconut and weight-loss. This research eventually led me to coconut water, coconut milk and then eventually coconut oil.

I started this blog to teach, learn and explore new things about weight loss and ultimately my health.. so I figured why not give it a try. I don’t usually eat coconut but maybe that’s something that I might like and could benefit me.

I found some great recipes and I started noticing that the days I used coconut oil in larger quantities in my food, the more weight I lost. BUT the scale kept moving back and forth, I couldn’t figure out why. A few days I would lose and other days I would gain, so again I googled it. That’s when I realized how much information there was out there on the benefits of fats for weight-loss. I was intrigued, eat fat to lose fat? How is this even possible? This led to LOTS more research.

I found out quickly what I was doing wrong. I can’t keep eating sugary carbs with the extra fat I was taking in. I didn’t eat lots of carbs but during the week I would lose weight and the weekends when I at more carbs, that’s when my weight went back up.

Protein, Carbohydrates and Fat are all used by the body as energy. The body loves carbs(and prefers carbs) and will quickly convert them to energy. BUT what I didn’t know is that if you stop eating carbs you need to add more protein AND FAT otherwise you won’t have energy. When I lost weight in the past I would add more protein but never added more fat. This is why I always felt irritable, tired, had no energy and had cravings.

A low carb, low-fat, High protein diet losing weight becomes a battle, a battle to ignore cravings, a battle to ignore hunger pains and a battle to exercise. If this is the case for you, realize something is wrong and change what you are doing.

All this (and much more) I learned because I read a book that told me coconut was good for weight-loss.

Make sure to check out and LIKE my Facebook page I just created. The goal is to spread the word of the LCHF lifestyle so that we can startgetting EVERYONE HEALTHY again.. If you are from another country, start your own LCHF page on Facebook and help spread the word.

Leave a Reply

