Book Review: the Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf

Posted: June 1, 2011 in LCHF/Paleo, LCHF/Paleo Product Review

Hey there, things are looking up today, feeling a bit better and the scale seems to be moving again, in the right direction. As you know I read ALOT and one of the books I just finished is the Paleo Solution – The original Human Diet by Robb Wolff and Foreward by Loren Cordain, Ph.D. and author of The Paleo Diet.

Now I have read the new Atkins book and while it’s interesting and easy to read it doesn’t go into much detail or science and explain or give much reason behind what they are saying. So while it is good to know the info that is in the Atkins book and the recipes are great, the Paleo books I find are WAY more informative.

Robb Wolff is a former research biochemist… A world leading expert in Paleolithic nutrition and is co-founder of the nutrition and athletic training journal, The Performance Menu, co-owner of NorCal Strength and Conditioning, (one of Men’s Health “top 30 gyms in America”) and ontop of that Robb is a former California State Powerlifting Champion AND a 6-0 amateur kickboxer.

This guy as far as I can tell from the book, knows what the heck he’s talking about, he is quite amusing and made me laugh a few times throughout the book. Especially at the very first time he said buttercup, you’ll see what I mean when you read the book.

Now the book tends to get pretty science heavy but that’s what I liked about it.. something other books sometimes lack and it goes on to explain different diseases, how different hormones interact in your body. This part you can skip if you want but towards the end of the book is where the food suggestions are, what kind of exercises you should be doing, meal plans for each week followed by recipes for that week. He’s pretty much taken the work out of it for you.. All you have to do is get groceries, clean out your home of all the non-paleo foods and go to town!

You could say that I pretty much follow a Paleo diet but it’s a bit modified, I still eat cheese and I still eat ham and bacon.. (in moderation) But this book makes it clear what the foods you are eating are doing to your system and even gives you details on how to read your blood test results and what supplements you could take and why. Very informative, well explained and when I get time I will read it again for sure, there’s lots of info I’m sure didn’t completely sink in the first time..

You can also check out Robb’s website that includes interviews, podcasts, downloads, shopping guides and much more.

Comments
  1. skinny.gurl says:

    Looks like a good one! All the info you’re posting is great. I, too, like understanding the science of it all – why and how foods and exercises are good, bad or neutral. I just struggle with the idea of completely eliminating any category of food, like grains. A few oats here or grains of brown rice there can’t be all that bad, surely?

    • tialee11 says:

      That’s what I thought, I was down to only eating rice and oatmeal as my carbs everyday along with lots of fruit and barely any veggies but it’s not something our body is meant to eat and you pay the price in not losing weight, not having energy and causing inflammation in your body(arthritis, heart disease, fibromyalgia etc) just from eating these foods on a regular basis, which I did. I had oatmeal everyday for breakfast and rice maybe every other day..I wasn’t eating bread and was eating relatively health (or so I thought) I love this book because it explains all this really well and the book I’m reading now which is called the Primal Blueprint is great too, it’s not as scientific as Robb Wolf’s book (so far) but it does comparisons that are great.. and you can easily relate to.. Thanks for the comment and I’m glad you are enjoying reading my blog! I’ll do another book review once I’m done the Primal Blueprint but there’s also a great cookbook as well.. ;)

Leave a Reply

