Getting back to normal, again

Posted: August 22, 2011 in LCHF/Paleo

So I have to admit this summer has been crazy and my apologies, I haven’t blogged in ages.. LOTS going on and you don’t even know the half of it but what I can tell you is it’s finally getting back to normal. At least for now! I moved to a new place over the summer and am just starting to get settled into the house. I finally had some time to go get some groceries and cook some meals. Up until a week or two ago my main priority was to get rid of things in my fridge and freezer. Eat up meals, meats, snacks. Whatever I had available so that when I moved, I could start fresh. Get rid of things I don’t eat and get new fresh food so that I can get to cooking again..

Well at some point I ran out of the healthier options and my not so healthy options took over. Sigh…

Since starting the moving process my health has gone down because of my less than ideal eating habits. I am excited that things are finally getting back to normal again, I can find things in my kitchen, I have healthy food options in my fridge and freezer and am slowly getting meals made so that I have more options. I kind of feel like I’m starting over, though I have come a long way. This time it’s different my goal is not weight loss, my goal is health. I want to feel better and I know what I have to do to get there..Cutting the carbs back out.

I have to tell you that the fact that I have eaten more carbs and even more gluten has made me feel awful! My skin has broken out, I have gained more weight, I am getting headaches all the time, my hips are sore, my whole body is sore and I’m bloated like crazy. My mood hasn’t been the best and now it’s just a matter of getting rid of the addicting carbs. I am shocked at how quickly I started having the cravings again. It’s sad really. I thought I wouldn’t crave them but now it’s so hard to just stop. I know I can do it, and I know I have to so I can start feeling better again. My energy has been very low and now that I have some workout stuff set up at home, my Wii will be set up soon. I can start doing workouts again BUT for that I need my energy…

It’s funny to think that for so many years I felt this way, I felt awful but I thought it was normal, the bloating, the rumbles in the tummy after a meal, the aches and pains, the headaches, the skin that would seem to break out for no clear reason. I suffered and it was normal. Now I know better, I know what I need to do to feel awesome again, so why the heck is it so hard?

This food, these carbs and sugar they grab a hold of you and it’s so hard to let them go. I know I can do it, because I have done it before. I’m sick and tired of feeling sick and tired.. now that I have my computer set up, my food/kitchen in relatively decent order, my exercises available to me once again… I have no more excuses. The only thing left to do is to come up with a plan, meal plan, exercise schedule and stick to it. This week and this upcoming weekend, that is my goal. To get back to normal..

I hope you all had a great summer, hopefully you got outside and enjoyed the sunshine a little more than I have been able to and I look forward to the future.. Only great things to come!

Comments
  1. Rachelle says:

    You will get back to normal and you can beat the cravings. I would say sleep as much as you can if your tired. And having meals in the freezer is great cause you can just thaw, reheat and serve. It is weird that what one considers normal for years is proved to not be normal when we start to treat our bodies right.

Leave a Reply

