Feeling good and bad

Posted: August 23, 2011 in LCHF/Paleo

So I’ll start with the bad, I feel bad because I feel like I abandoned people who came to my blog often. I know some people are curious about how I eat and others just like to catch up on how I’m doing. Being away for a few months from blogging, I can’t say I actually missed blogging but I feel that I have let people down.

My health is important to me and even more so now. Learning about my health and eating healthy, it’s a process and I know it is not only a process for me but for many people. I know I’m not alone in my struggles and I’m not always perfect. I screw up, I get away from how I should be eating, sometimes purposely to test what works and what doesn’t for me and sometimes because it just can’t be helped, life happens.

I find it hard to blog about my life and how things are going in terms of my struggles, especially when I am really struggling or just plain old don’t have any time. I want you all to realize though that even though I don’t always enjoy admitting that I am not perfect, I do realize nobody is.

So for the good, now that I am in a place in my life once again that I can get my health back on track, I feel energized again. Even though I have only been eating better for a day, I just feel great. When you know you are eating things you shouldn’t be eating, when you feel out of control, it really brings you down. You feel like you’ve lost control and can’t get back to where you were. I have been down in the dumps for the past few months and I didn’t really realize that it was because I just felt bad that I was losing control of my health once again. I was sore, tired and it made me sad. I couldn’t do much about it at the time and now that I can, it feels like a new beginning. I woke up more excited today than I have in a while and I feel good that I am going to start feeling good again. Sounds strange to say but it’s true.

This is day two and I am already noticing a difference in my mood, my energy, my skin and for the first day in a few weeks I didn’t wake up with a headache. I drove by fast food last night and didn’t feel the urge to stop in for a treat.(not that I do all the time) It was nice, my cravings are going away already and that just makes me smile. I hate craving food that I know isn’t good for me. Now if only I could start craving more foods that are actually good for me, it would make things easier!

Comments
  1. skinny.gurl says:

    No worries about the little vacation from blogging, and great that you’re feeling so good so quickly after going back to eating better!

  2. Carrie says:

    Its good to know I’m not the only one that fell off the wagon this summer.
    I spent the last month and a half eating whatever I want (mostly junk) and rarely exercising. (and even started smoking again)
    Summer has been fun, and I’ve just been enjoying it without any structure.

    Needless to say, it resulting in no energy, grumpy and gaining back 4 of the pounds I lost.

    Last week I got back to a responsible meal plan and exercise. The 4 pounds dropped off quickly and I’m very energetic and happy now. I missed the gym a lot. I walked in there last week and instantly felt better just being there.

    Lesson learned: this needs to be an integral part of my lifestyle. I cannot take long breaks.

    • tialee11 says:

      Hey! Yeah I hear ya, I had a few twists thrown in to make it even more difficult. But I am starting to get my mojo back, hopefully it will last a little while but got to take advantage of it while I can.. I am not weighing myself and as long as I am eating healthy and getting adequate exercise at this point that’s all I care about. The rest will come later in the future. My summer was busy and I’m so glad the moving is done and I can relax atleast a tiny bit. too bad I missed all the cottage weather though. Only got to the cottage once this summer. Ohwell, there’ll be other summers to enjoy! (Watch it rain all summer next year) lol..

  3. isladeangela says:

    Hi! This is my first time to your blog – I found you listed in someone else’s blog roll and thought I’d stop by. I read a few entries and had to laugh about how similar this post is to my post on August 25th! I’ve just returned to my blog after a rough year of highs and lows (I find it extremely hard to blog during the lows, also), although my summer hasn’t been a low it’s just been too busy to blog, and I, too, feel as if I’m finally back on track to living a healthier life. I wonder if it will ever get easier and just a habit instead of something I keep wandering away from? Welcome back. I’ll check in again and see how you’re doing. ~ Angie

    • tialee11 says:

      Hey! Thanks for the comment, I agree when you are down in the dumps, you don’t really feel like talking about it. I have to say though that once you know what works for you and what doesn’t you don’t really ever get completely off track. When I eat “unhealthy” it’s actually way more healthy than years ago. If I have Mcd’s once in a week I feel like I had a bad week, when in reality not so long ago, I ate out everyday. You learn, you grow and sometimes life gets hectic and nothing is really super easy but you don’t lose the knowledge you have and it makes it that much easier to get back on track than in the past.

Leave a Reply

