Health isn’t measured by your waist size

Posted: August 26, 2011 in Food, Health

Did you know you can be fat and still be healthier than your skinny friend sitting beside you? Just because you are skinny doesn’t mean you are healthy. One thing I have learned over the years is that your health has nothing to do with your waist size, it has everything to do with what you put in your mouth and the amount of exercise you get.

People who have no fat but eat all they want, indulge in sweets and fried foods & takeout BUT exercise regularly. They think they are just as healthy, if not healthier than the people who are 100 lbs over weight, eat healthy (fruits, veggies, healthy fats) and exercise regularly. If you think this way, I have news for you. You are wrong!

Younger people(late teens, 20’s) are the worst for this, they think they are invincible to begin with, they haven’t endured the aches and pains yet from the food choices they have made since they were younger.

I was one of these young naïve young people. I had the odd ache and pain, the odd headache growing up. I didn’t eat healthy, wasn’t really fat but I ate whatever I wanted, when I wanted. Some foods I knew bothered me but I had no clue why, I just avoided them. But it was my normal and until I gained weight and the aches and pains got worse, I continued eating this way and being lazy.

I have news for all of you like this, it will catch up with you. Some people will notice it slowly over time, lack of energy, digestive problems, headaches getting worse. A long list of problems that are just getting worse, with no explanation. Some might seek medical treatment, the doctor shrugs his/her shoulders and says I’m not sure but it might be this, so take this medication and it should help. It doesn’t help.

Then there’s the other people, they eat what they want, they have digestive tracts of steel, they have no headaches no OBVIOUS symptoms, they are active and always seem to have enough energy to get by. Until one day, the end up in the hospital.. heart attack, stroke, asthma or something even more dreadful, cancer.

I can’t emphasize enough, no matter what your age. You have ONE BODY and no matter what you think, no matter how invincible you think you are, what you are doing to yourself WILL affect you one day. If you don’t take care of yourself, if you don’t eat properly if you don’t get adequate exercise, healthy food, enough sunshine. Your body will start paying for it.

I’m not saying that every single health problem in the world is completely related to the foods you eat(some are there when we’re born) but I can say a large portion,  everything from arthritis, diabetes, obesity, epilepsy, cancers, immune disorders, acid reflux, colitis, allergies to acne or headaches is caused by the foods you eat.

Those who get early signs of a problem such as digestive issues, aches and pains, high blood pressure/blood sugar. Consider yourself lucky because you are being told something very important by your body, something isn’t right. It’s up to you to figure out what that is and fix it. I guarantee it won’t fix itself and while a doctor will be quick to give you a pill to cover up and help you cope with whatever issue you may be having, all it is doing is giving you the false illusion that something isn’t wrong. That this will be your new normal and that you will always be this way.

Except, something is wrong and you can help make things better…

Our body is energized and nourished by the things we put into it… now do you think that putting foods that weren’t around 10’s of thousands of years ago, even hundreds of years ago like chemicals, additives, processed junk foods we can’t even pronounce. Do you think these are nourishing your body? Absolutely not, they are slowly wearing you down, your organs, your energy, your digestive system, your immunity. Your entire body is affected by these foods in a negative way. Your body is a complex system that over 100’s of thousands of years of evolution has found ways to survive to cope with it surroundings and adapt. We aren’t giving ourselves time to adjust to our new surroundings, we expect our body to adapt to it quickly when realistically adding something such as SUGAR and GRAINS would take us 100’s of thousands of years to adapt to and we expect it to adapt literally overnight. These foods aren’t what we are meant to eat and should be consumed on a regular daily basis. Can your body cope with these foods on a daily basis, sure, for a while. But do you want to live just for a while?

If you’re someone who is dealing with an illness, lacks energy, digestive issues, fertility problems, obesity a LONG number of health issues that just literally seem to come out of nowhere. You owe it to yourself to make the changes in the way you eat and find out what is causing these health problems.

Did I ever think that food was causing me headaches or joint and muscle pain, digestive problems? No, I just thought it was normal. I was told IBS was something I would have to deal with, my aches and pains were something I would have to deal with. I was given medication, it helped but it never went away completely. Until I changed the way I ate. Now I don’t take any pills and when I do get sore, an infection, a headache.. I know the reason why. Do you?

I didn’t accept what doctors told me to be true, I knew there had to be a reason why I was feeling the way I was and I had a strong feeling it was the food I was eating, I didn’t know what food but I was on a mission to find out and I am so glad I did.

Eating healthy should not be ONLY for losing weight, Exercising should not be ONLY for losing weight. It should be because you want to be healthy, strong and live a long life.. To die of old age and not an illness, disease and health problem that could have easily been avoided had you made a change.

Leave a Reply

