Veggies

Posted: May 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

So I have been thinking that now that I am having a bit more time I can start getting my healthy eating back on track as well as exercise. I was going to wait until the end of the week to start my 30 day paleo challenge but I have been feeling so awful lately I just want to start now!

I hate feeling sore, achy, headaches, bloated and fatigued. I know it’s completely my fault I haven’t been eating as healthy as I should be and have even eaten some gluten lately which is contributing to the headaches. I need to get my act together and just get rid of sugar completely.

The last time I did eat paleo I didn’t do it 100% because well that’s really hard. I still ate rice and oats, dairy and I also still ate potatoes and corn. This time I am going to attempt to eat as paleo as I can. I am still going to eat fruit though, trying to go more veggie then fruit BUT for me I hate a lot of vegetables! Until my taste buds get use to them I might need a bit more fruit in the mix.

I am looking forward to more energy, better night sleep and WAY less aches and pains. Having a 4 month old means I need to get the most out of my sleep when I get it. I remember when I was eating paleo I slept less and felt so great after 6 or 7 hours. Now I get 8 hours in a night and still feel like I could slip another 8! I actually feel like it is all getting worse and worse the longer I wait and my body is just one big inflammation! I am positive that this 30 day challenge will probably last much longer than 30 days but it’s a start. I don’t want to say this is a forever thing, cause forever is a long time but 30 days I can do. We’ll see how I’m doing after that… My bet is that I’m feeling so awesome I’ll not want to go back.

I’ll admit I’m addicted to food though, it tastes good and I just have to realize that my addiction is causing me all this pain. These foods are not good for me, even though people are told they are. Sugar is toxic to your body and I can definitely see it in the way I feel.

In the past year I went from eating paleo and feeling great, to getting pregnant and slipping back into not-so-paleo when I was pregnant. The pregnancy made me not want meat at all, I lived off eggs and fruit and some veggies… I still ate meat just not the extent that I did before. I couldn’t stomach coconut milk anymore and I found a lot of the meals I once loved I couldn’t even touch.

We’ll see how this goes. I am going out today to buy some veggies at the grocery store and a steamer, since I don’t own one. I’m also going to buy a few plants – raspberry and blueberry so I have some fresh berries in my garden.. yum!

Talk to you all later! Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

