Burger bun – gluten free/low carb

Posted: August 30, 2012 in Gluten Free Recipes, LCHF/Paleo, LCHF/Paleo Recipes

I made some burger buns yesterday and I have to say they were great! I actually liked my burger even more! I admit I get sick of wrapping my burger or hotdogs in lettuce so having a gluten free burger bun is nice. I have yet to find any low carb, gluten free burger buns. I made oopsies up until now, which were ok but annoying to make..(mostly cause I hate having to seperate egg whites and whisk)

I have made these buns three times now and the first time I used coconut oil, 2nd time I used butter. I really really like the taste of butter in these more than the coconut oil.

The recipe is for one single bun but I usually make 3 or 4 depending on how many eggs I have left at the time. Either way it’s VERY easy and VERY quick to make.

Ingredients for one single bun:
•    1 egg
•    1 tablespoon coconut flour
•    1 tablespoon blanched almond flour
•    1 tablespoon coconut oil (olive oil or melted butter)
•    Pinch salt
•    1/4 teaspoon baking powder

Optional:
•    1 teaspoon nutritional yeast
•    1/4 teaspoon poppy seeds, chia seeds, sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
Add all ingredients and blend together using a hand blender or small food processor. Let the batter settle for a few minutes to thicken.
Split the mixture into two and spoon onto oiled parchment paper to make two 3-inch diameter pools of batter. Top with additional seeds if desired.
Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes.
Use each piece as top and bottom of a burger bun.
While it is baking you can throw your burger on the grill. If you’re lucky the burger will be done by the time the bun is cooked!
Recipe submitted by Mandy, Denver, CO

Comments
  1. […] Burger bun – gluten-free/low carb (healthierhappierwiser.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

