Kombucha

Posted: December 10, 2012 in LCHF/Paleo

I’ve been looking at ways to get Fermented foods into my diet. Restore some bacteria and help my digestion. I came across something interesting, I had never heard of – Kombucha.

Kombucha is a fermented tea that has been around for YEARS. It originated in China and is gaining in popularity in the States and can even be found here in Ottawa. I found me a super expensive – $26 bottle at Natural Food Pantry.

I’m not a fan of tea, you will never see me brewing tea to drink in the morning or any time of day for that matter. BUT Kombucha doesn’t really taste like tea. At least the one I tried… It was more of a cross between Apple Cider Vinegar, Wine and Tea.

Hard to explain but it was interesting and the thing that I found most interesting is how great I felt after just a bit of this stuff. ALSO I actually wanted to drink more of it, which is odd because I can’t say I really enjoyed the taste all that much. My only reasoning for this is my body was craving all the nutrition that is in this interesting tea.

So why is this Fermented tea becoming so popular? Well… it has active enzymes, multiple species of yeast and bacteria, acetic acid, butyric acid, B vitamins, Ethanol- usually less than .5%, Gluconic Acid, Lactic Acid, Malic Acid, Oxalic Acid and Usnic Acid.

Ok great, lots of acid and bacteria, sounds yummy! And it doesn’t taste all that fantastic so what will it do for my health? Well the health claims are as follows:

  • Liver detoxification – High in enzymes and bacteria – ones your body already naturally produces. So this boost in extra enzymes and bacteria helps ease the load on your pancreas and gives your liver a bit of a break.
  • Relieves constipation
  • Relieve headaches and migraines
  • Reduces kidney stones
  • helps to clear up yeast/candida infections
  • Balances internal pH
  • Cancer prevention – high in glucaric acid which has been shown in studies to prevent cancer
  • Preventing and treating Arthritis – Relief comparable to NSAIDs thanks to Glucosamines, also rebuilds connective tissue
  • Improved Digestion
  • Reduces blood pressure
  • Gives a boost to your Immune System
  • Clearer skin
  • Increased Energy – theanine and B vitamins
  • Reduces or even eliminates symptoms of depression, anxiety
  • Aids in weight loss – increases your metabolism
  • Improved eyesight
  • Improved stress levels
  • Strengthens hair and restores colour

Now I have to admit these seems all a little far fetched but honestly even if all it does is aid in my digestion and gives me some beneficial bacteria. Can’t hurt to try it for a while and see. I know fermented foods are very good for you and I should be eating more of them. This has to be a good start. I am going to be ordering a starter kit from www.royalkombucha.com.

I am hoping that brewing my own will be worthwhile. I can’t see myself spending $26 for a small bottle and be drinking this stuff regularly. So if I brew my own, I can drink as much as I’d like and create my own flavors. I can also help other people brew their own. (Sharing Scoby’s) It’s not very popular here in Canada so I’m sure I’ll be asked about it.

It takes a while to brew- since it is fermented. Anywhere from a few weeks to a month depending on how strong you like it. You can also create a carbonated/flavored version by double fermenting it.

For now I would just love to have a happy tummy! And maybe get rid of some grey hairs lol

Comments
  1. […] I wrote yesterday about Kombucha and all the health benefit claims that are out there. Now I bet you are wondering, how the heck do you buy this drink here in Canada? It’s still not all that popular here so unless you are willing to shell out a few bucks, I wouldn’t head out to your local store just yet. […]

Leave a Reply

