Kombucha is ready

Posted: February 4, 2013 in Food, Health, LCHF/Paleo
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

KombuchaKombucha brewing – Easier than I thought

I’ve been meaning to post this for a couple of days.. I checked on my Kombucha that was brewing the other day and it seems to be ready. It brewed for 22 days and I got a huge scoby out of it.. so now I have 2. I’m thinking of starting two batches instead of just one. One 1 gallon batch just won’t last very long. I like the thought that I’m actually eating some fermented food now and being kind to my gut, helping it heal. But having to wait 3 weeks just to drink the stuff, it’s very long when you drink a small glass a day. I give it a week and I’ll have none left. So I guess I’ll have to go look for another 1 gallon glass container to use. I have no idea where to find one here in Ottawa, any suggestions?

Store bought/home brew no comparison!

I have to say though this Kombucha I brewed doesn’t even compare to the stuff I bought in the store for $26 a bottle. The stuff in the store was very strong and was awful compared to this stuff. It tastes a million times better when you brew it yourself. It actually kind of tastes a bit like champagne and I’m sure if you double ferment to get some bubbles going, it would be similar, though I haven’t had champagne in years so hard to really compare. :)

In the photo, the jar on the right is what I put in my fridge to drink (some more went into another jar). The jar on the left is both scoby’s sitting around waiting for me to brew another batch. I’ll start brewing again in the next few days.

I’m happy my Kombucha turned out, I was a little worried because the temperature in my house is far from consistent and the batch was downstairs, which can go from very warm to cold in a few hours. (wood furnace).

It will be interesting to see how the next batch tastes as I’ll be using a combination of black tea and green tea. I’m actually not sure what tea I used when I made my first batch since it came with my kit.

Maybe after I get use to brewing this stuff I might start double fermenting to get some fizz in my drink. We will see!

Have you tried making Kombucha before? Share you stories in the comments, success, failures, what have you learned? If you like today’s post, please click share!

Is bacon good for you.jpg

Tiana MacLeod
Email: tianamacleod@gmail.com
Add me to Facebook: www.facebook.com/tianamacleod
Join my Facebook group: Healthy Happy & Wise LCHF
Subscribe to my YouTube Channel
Twitter: www.twitter.com/tianamacleod

Leave a Reply

