Slim is simple – A healthy diet plan

Posted: February 6, 2013 in Fitness/Exercise, LCHF/Paleo
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

My healthy diet plan – Here is my story

I’ve lost weight(60 lbs), I’ve gotten strong but is it really all about calories in calories out? What is my secret?

healthy diet plan

This is me in June 2004

Did my healthy diet plan consist of:

  • Work out like crazy
  • Starve myself
  • Count calories
  • Keep a food journal
  • Eat Low Calorie, low-fat foods
  • Eat high fiber grains

The old 2008 Tiana would say yes to some, if not ALL of these things.

healthy diet plan

This is me in 2010, I’m still the same weight now even after having a baby. I just really like this picture lol

I use to workout 5 times a week at the gym, count my calories, write down everything and see how much food I was eating each day. I would watch my portion sizes and limit my calories to 1200 a day. I followed the Canada’s food guide, making sure I was eating High Fibre, whole grain foods, switched to margarine, cut out the cholesterol, no saturated fats, no salt. I was eating very health, or so I thought!

Problem was, I felt worse, I lost a bit of weight but couldn’t lose anymore, I had no energy even though I was getting stronger but doing all this, it was tough and really I couldn’t sustain dieting like this for long periods of time. It was too hard. It drained me.

This was me in 2008 when I started my journey to lose weight. Little did I know, I had sooo much to learn!

I’m so thankful that I live in a time where I have information at my fingertips. I was able to research and find a way that was better… I started with what was working. I did lose some weight but why did it stop and why did I still feel so awful? It took a lot of research and experimenting to find out what I was doing wrong. Turns out, pretty much everything I was doing, was wrong.

  • I wasn’t eating enough
  • I was exercising too much, causing stress in my body
  • I was eating the wrong foods..

That last one was the hardest to discover and accept. How can it be that spaghetti, naan pesto pizza and quasadilla’s be unhealthy? The whole wheat sandwiches for lunch and the bowl of cereal every morning?

Video that outline my healthy diet plan

I came across this video today Slim is Simple and it explains my healthy diet plan very well and what I was doing wrong.. It highlights all the changes I made a few years back. I haven’t looked back. More and more people are making these changes and discovering how flawed our conventional wisdom is when it comes to our health and losing weight. Our healthy diet plans of today are so far off, it is incredible. Time for us to take our health back into our own hands. Watch the video, be amazed, make the changes and be amazed again!

If you want some ideas on what to eat, this video is great.

The non-profit organization was launched by Jonathan Bailor author of  The smarter science of slim. His organization called Slim is Simple is dedicated to providing the public with information about diet and health through compelling multimedia resources – which are FREE OF CHARGE!

Do a search on Youtube ‘Slim is simple ‘ to see more videos. It really is a great resource!

If you enjoyed this post please “comment, like & share” this page…

Is bacon good for you.jpg

Tiana MacLeod
Email: tianamacleod@gmail.com
Add me to Facebook: www.facebook.com/tianamacleod
Join my Facebook Group: Healthy Happy & Wise LCFH
Subscribe to my YouTube Channel
Twitter: www.twitter.com/tianamacleod

Comments
  1. Lisa Ball says:

    These videos are great!!

Leave a Reply

