ANatomy of human digestive system This past week I have worked towards going 100% paleo, which will happen fully next week. With some meal planning and cooking ahead of time to actually get to the point of doing it fully. It’ll be a very strict and restricted meal plan for a few weeks.

I don’t like the idea of going cold turkey paleo and very low carb.. I’ve done it before and it’s not nice. So I figured if I transition into it, it’d be easier on my system. I cut out a few things this week that I was eating way too much of. In the mornings for breakfast I would make a Mocha, I cut that out all week.. I was also munching on chocolate covered almonds, which I didn’t even buy another bag just to make sure. I also was munching on plain chips, which I haven’t touched even though they’re in the cupboard.

I also cut out rice, though I wasn’t eating much of it I’d have a snack here and there like gluten-free snack that are made with rice flour. I stopped these snacks as well.

This week has mostly been fruits/veggies, meats and fats and a bit of nuts and seeds..

This isn’t bad but I’ll have to cut out the fruits for a while as well as some starchy veggies and veggies that may cause problems(night shades). Once I have done this for a few weeks I’ll slowly re-introduce the foods.Aglaee Jacobs, Digestive Health with Real Food

It kind of reminds me of when my baby was very little and I started adding foods into her diet. I would introduce one food at a time for 3-4 days and if she had no reaction to it, I’d move on to the next food. I’ll be doing the same thing.. I have a set list of foods that I can and can not eat and I have a food list of stuff I can start re-introducing back into my diet and see how I feel.

Yesterday I started making bone broth so I’ll have that ready for next week and hopefully tonight after work I’ll be visiting the Natural Food Pantry and getting a few things to help me with digestion (Ox Bile to help with digesting fat) and muscle cramps(magnesium glycinate) I’ll also check to see if they have L-Glutamine, they didn’t the last time I was there. It’s suppose to help with joint pain and since I have bad hips, I figured it couldn’t hurt!

**update, I wrote this and forgot to post it but to add to it, I fell back into some sugar over the weekend so I decided to eat up what’s left in my house or throw it away. I am cleaning the house this week and preparing foods and once I have enough time I’ll make a meal plan for the week and start with eating this way. I don’t want to just start trying to eat this way because honestly I would starve. I need a plan. That’s where I’m at right now. I have bone broth made and ghee made. I’m dehydrating some zucchini, cucumber and kale and fresh herbs.. then I’ll do a meal plan and see what other ideas I can come up with. I’d love to start this diet soon, in the next day or two but I’m not sure when I’ll get there to be honest with you. I will post recipes as I find some and I’ll also let you know how I’m doing. This isn’t going to be fun at all!!

** Another update that I wanted to mention, part of the reason why I started to do this SIBO diet is to help clear up a problem that I had on and off for the past few years. It started back in 2008 and I managed to clear it up through changing my diet and doing physio for pelvic floor dysfunction – it’s called Vulvodynia and it kind of feels like a bacterial infection all the time and was actually treated as one over and over and over, as well as a yeast infection. Those treatments helped temporarily but didn’t get rid of it. Which is why I still think it’s bacterial..Now the problem with this is that all these rounds of medication, made things worse. It made the gut flora situation, completely messed up. Along with the TB medication I had prior to that and contraception I was on for years, my poor gut is a mess.. so this is why I put the connection of IBS and vulvodynia together.. it all seems to lead back to digestive issues that started around the same time.. when my stomach is better the vulvodynia is better. When I was pregnant I started eating non-paleo foods again, rice, lots of fruits, oatmeal.. and that coupled with being pregnant brought back the vulvodynia flare ups again. I believe that SIBO is the cause and combining Paleo with a SIBO diet I think will help me heal, not only my digestive problems but the vulvodynia as well. I’ll post more updates and let you know.

Leave a Reply

