It has now been about 2 1/2 weeks following the SIBO diet, my gosh this is hard! I’ve had a few days where I ate foods I shouldn’t have eaten, most of those days it was because I was out and about and got really hungry and no healthy food was available. I didn’t actually think I would be out so long(in most cases) so I didn’t bring any snacks with me, though I’m finding it hard to find convenient snacks to bring with me other than a cup of soup(bone broth with chicken and a few veggies) or kale chips.

I actually have noticed that days that I end up eating something I shouldn’t, especially if there’s quite a bit of carbs in it (usually I end up eating some form of potato, chips or fries)that usually sets off a stomach upset, almost immediately.. I even had Swiss Chalet the other day and opted for the fries instead of salad.. shouldn’t have done that, I know.. but as soon as I ate it my stomach immediately was mad at me.

It’s funny how when your stomach reacts to foods like that, those foods no longer seem so appetizing.

Seriously, like my tummy had never had a few fries and rotisserie chicken before?! I caught my stomach off guard, it didn’t expect something like that and I had stomach and gas pains the rest of the night.

I think that’s a clear sign that I’m on the right path, I’ve never reacted that way to fries and chicken.. The bad bacteria takes advantage of any little bit of carbs you have and uses it to stay alive.. it also produces gasses as it digests the food.

So there ya have it.. I have evil mean bacteria in my tummy.

I know I’m healing and I know it’s going to take time but I have NO IDEA how long it will take and when I’ll be able to introduce foods back in again. maybe a few weeks, maybe a few months.. I really don’t know. All I know is I miss food.. there’s a certain comfort in food even when you are eating paleo, you get use to having a little piece of dark chocolate or a paleo muffin as a snack, an apple or banana on the go. I always had a feeling that I should avoid the sugars, even in fruit but I really didn’t know it was going to be so difficult. I never thought in a million years I’d miss eating a banana.

I remember not that long ago, 2007 I was 215 lbs and I was eating out at restaurants everyday, a deep fryer on my kitchen counter at home. I wouldn’t bat an eye drinking pop for lunch and supper, everyday. I would go to the store on weekends get a bag full of candy and pick up a movie, order a pizza and have a night in. I really didn’t know the damage I was doing.. and honestly thinking about it now I wonder what took me so long to figure this all out. It makes so much sense to eat real food, getting nutrients to fuel your stomach.. how could I have possibly thought that eating candy and a pizza was giving me any sort of nutrition.. and in my head I would think, well I’m eating pizza, it’s good for you. It has grains, vegetables and meat.. how is that not good for you? WOW!!

I really can’t believe that was me, that was how I thought and that really wasn’t all that long ago..

The food I eat, it’s the exact opposite of that person in 2007. I am still struggling to heal all the damage I have done from the past 30 years of eating crap everyday, I hope it doesn’t take 30 years to fix it..

Today I was actually feeling pretty good, so I thought it would be a good day to start back at the gym.. I did 45 minutes on the treadmill.. not too fast but not slow either.. a nice brisk walk. I figure if I can get a few walks in during the week, it’s a start. Up till now I haven’t had the energy, so it’s nice to see that it’s coming back, even if it’s just a little.

I kind of look at this phase of the SIBO diet the same way I looked at pregnancy. My body is working very hard to CREATE – not a baby but new cells, heal and replenish nutrients in my body. It drains you to make a new human-being inside, just as much as it drains you to heal. Feeling tired, exhausted is your body’s way of telling you to take it easy, it’s busy doing it’s job, my job is to listen.

I will continue taking it easy with the exercise and I know when my body is ready it will tell me by giving me the energy I need to do more… I know the feeling, I had it before and I know it will come back eventually. I just have to give myself time and be patient… even though it really really sucks!

** update on vulvodynia, well it’s not flaring up, so that’s a good thing but still not gone so I’m sure it will take much more time. I think the last time it took a few months after changing my diet for it to get better. It’s funny because the last time, all I did was cut out gluten then sugar. I still ate fruit but not lots and it got better.. this time it’s a little more difficult to get rid of. We will see but I haven’t had any gluten at all since early February.. that I’m sure is helping me heal!

For more information on SIBO, what it is, what causes it and how to get rid of it you can check out this site

Leave a Reply

